Mexican Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2001
Very good. It may be a little too spicy for kids, otherwise it's a great dish for a potluck dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Didn't make this exact recipe but have been making a similar version for years. I layer tortilla chips in a glass baking dish and top w/ cubed cooked chicken. Then combine the cream of chx, heaping tsp of garlic powder and chili powder, drained Rotel tomatoes, and chopped onion. Spread sauce over chicken and top w/ shredded sharp cheddar. Bake @ 350 for 40 minutes. Scoop out your serving and top with chopped tomato and lettuce. BIG HIT W/ EVERYONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This was awesome with a few tweaks. I cut the soup down to one can. Added the sour cream to the mixture. I seasoned my chicken with the chili powder and garlic. Left out the salt. I added chopped onions and green pepper to the chicken while I was sauteeing it. I added a can of mild green chilis to the mixture as well. I did not add the chili powder and garlic to the mix, as it was well seasoned as it was. I added a cup of rice as well. After it was baked, we added hot sauce to taste to each individual serving. Very good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I made a few revisions to ths recipe. I omitted the chili powder as hubby and I don't like alot of spice. I used onion powder and diced tomatoes with onion in it instead of the plain onion. I also added a can of refried beans to mixture. I also used tortilla chips instead of corn tortillas. I put a cup of Mexican shredded cheese in the mix and then melted some on the top when the casserole was almost done. This all came out excellent ! Even my picky husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Very good recipe easy to make eveyone who's tried it loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: La Salle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I did change a few things. Added only half the chili powder. Had only one can diced tomatoes with chiles and one regular. Added three cans cream chicken and one can mild enchilada sauce. Simmer'd on the stove top ( oven quit working) for aprox 25 minutes. Poured over soft taco shells and also made egg noodles and spinach and chive noodles. Hubby and kids loved it! Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Wonderful! The people who left out the chili powder must not be from the South! I'm from Texas & like spice. My kids (one of them is picky) went back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
My dad has an issue with casseroles, but he LOVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I like to use Doritos instead of tortillas. Mucho better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
This was delicious and my picky family loved it! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States