Mexican Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2001
Very good. It may be a little too spicy for kids, otherwise it's a great dish for a potluck dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
I served the corn chips on the side & mixed everything else together. Despite mixing only 1/2 a teaspoon of chili powder into the dish & omitting the extra chili powder from the topping, I thought it was still pretty spicy. It may also have been because I used a can of RO*TEL tomatoes & green chile peppers, which are a little spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
This was a good recipe! My only suggestions would be to spray the pan with cooking spray so the tortillas don't stick and to use the low-fat versions of soup and sour cream! Other than that, it had a good Mexican taste and it was really easy to make. I'll end up making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This is a dish that is suffering from an identity crisis. I think it would be better suited as a dip or add some chicken broth and turn it into a soup. As a casserole, it fails. Add the chili seasoning to taste, otherwise, it will be too spicy. Overall, we liked the flavor BUT the tortillas added nothing. This is a pretty ugly dish and would never dream of making it again or serving it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I thought that this was great! the next time I make I'll probably add 2 cups of rice to make it taste more mexican.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Didn't make this exact recipe but have been making a similar version for years. I layer tortilla chips in a glass baking dish and top w/ cubed cooked chicken. Then combine the cream of chx, heaping tsp of garlic powder and chili powder, drained Rotel tomatoes, and chopped onion. Spread sauce over chicken and top w/ shredded sharp cheddar. Bake @ 350 for 40 minutes. Scoop out your serving and top with chopped tomato and lettuce. BIG HIT W/ EVERYONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This was awesome with a few tweaks. I cut the soup down to one can. Added the sour cream to the mixture. I seasoned my chicken with the chili powder and garlic. Left out the salt. I added chopped onions and green pepper to the chicken while I was sauteeing it. I added a can of mild green chilis to the mixture as well. I did not add the chili powder and garlic to the mix, as it was well seasoned as it was. I added a cup of rice as well. After it was baked, we added hot sauce to taste to each individual serving. Very good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Added a couple of my own touches, I loved it, myh husband hated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I made a few revisions to ths recipe. I omitted the chili powder as hubby and I don't like alot of spice. I used onion powder and diced tomatoes with onion in it instead of the plain onion. I also added a can of refried beans to mixture. I also used tortilla chips instead of corn tortillas. I put a cup of Mexican shredded cheese in the mix and then melted some on the top when the casserole was almost done. This all came out excellent ! Even my picky husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LOVEBREEZY
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This was very good. Hubby thought it was a little dry. He suggested rinsing out the soup can with a little water and adding that to the mix. I think I'd put some sour cream in it OR more canned Tomato w/Chiles as we thought there should be more tomatoes. We did add some extra green chiles -- personal preference. Oh and some more cheese – the power of cheeseeeeeeee. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVEBREEZY

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States