Mexican Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This was really good n my husband says it was fabulous. I will be making this again. Great w tortillas and extra salsa on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was easy and very delish...I ate it alone one day, put it over romaine lettuce the next day and then the last day I diced it up and rolled into flour tortillas with some cheese and microwaved. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Kimster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Really easy and good. I halved it and baked it covered at 400 for 1 hr. The chicken was tender enough to shred if I'd wanted to. I may try to combine with my mexican rice recipe to make a one dish casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This was one of my favorites. Cynjne was skeptical though because of the beans, but as it turns out she really liked it. We love cumin spiced dishes. She thought the adding salsa was a great idea and combined with the cumin she was willing to try it. In the end she really liked the beans in the dish. I used No Name brand medium salsa from the local store(Food Basics). Did not have enough time to make our own salsa from scratch, nor did we have everything needed. Definite, definite repeat. If you like chicken, you will like this I am sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This is excellent. I made the recipe exactly. I baked the chicken at 400 degrees for 1-1/2 hours. My baking dish was covered with foil. The chicken was tender and the beans did not burn. I made this 2x with excellent results. I did uncover and top with cheddar cheese last 10 minutes. Served with Mexican rice and sour cream. Nice and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I halved the recipe but otherwise followed it exactly. I cooked it for 1 hour but had to go somewhere, so I turned the oven off and left it in. When I returned, I shredded the chicken, which was extremely tender, mixed it all up, and served it in tortillas. While it was extremely easy to throw together, it was just average. But average is ok in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Despite my faith in strong review power to determine the goodness of a recipe, I have to say this one was not really anything to write home about in and of its self. For chicken tenderness, 5. Easy of prep, 5. Directions, ?-not sure an hour and a half is necessary at 400. Has any one tried it this way? I did 350 for about 45 minutes. The flavor was just lacking. I think those who have dressed this up with sour cream, cheese, fresh tomatoes, a tortilla, corn chips, etc. are on the right track. I served over rice as suggested by recipe. I accidentally got some canned Mexi-corn on my fork with a mouthful, and went, "That's what this needs! Something to lighten it up!" It is just so heavy and dark. So...if you add these lighter, cooler items, it is a good recipe. But not spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Made this for dinner last night and we loved it. Nothing fancy here, but nice Mexican flavors. I did cut back a bit on the cumin and chili powder and omitted the lemon juice – all due to personal preferences. I did add taco seasoning to both the chicken and the salsa mixture. I also added the black beans to the salsa mixture. I agree with others that the baking time/temp are WAY OFF!! I baked mine, covered at 350 for 30 minutes and they were perfectly cooked and still nice and moist. I plated the chicken over saffron rice and drizzled a bit of the juice from the bottom of the baking dish over the top, just to moisten up the appearance of the salsa. Then I sprinkled it with shredded cheddar, which just began to melt from the residual heat in the chicken. I sprinkled it with green onions for color, and served it with some shredded lettuce and sour cream. Pretty! Delicious! And very, very filling! Oh, and I forgot to mention – really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Really tasty! I used it for tacos. Wrapped it up in some corn tortillas with some light sour cream, small amount of cheese, diced jalepenos and some lettuce! I live alone, so I cut the recipe in half and had enough for about three and a half or four meals. Great for a beginner or verteran. All around easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bentley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This recipe was a family hit! I dipped the chicken pieces in flour and sauteed in olive oil, w/ the onion, garlic and bell pepper first to keep it moist, and then only baked whole mixture with rest of ingredients for about an hour.... it was delish! I served it over a bed of white rice and corn on the cob. I will share this and definitely make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States