Mexican Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Wow! This was wonderful. I actually made this on the stovetop because it was way too hot to turn the oven on. I used cumin seed (all I had) and sprinkled on one side of each breast lightly, followed with lemon juice. Sat for about 5 minutes, while I sauteed the onion garlic and bell pepper. added the breasts spice side down, seared and then flipped. Added everything else to pan, covered, turned the heat down to med-low and cooked for about 20-25 minutes. The man said he could smell if from the street. I will make this again, but I will wait to turn the stove on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Awesome, next time I will take the advice of others and mix the beans wit the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
We thought this was great, thank you! I mixed the black beans in with the sauce, and we topped with sour cream and a little cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephieq

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Great recipe, I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dysart, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This was a very simple and very tasty dish. I had some chicken thighs on hand so used those instead. Reduced the heating time and temperature as others suggested since I was cooking for only one. Such good flavors! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
this was great! so much flavor! i added a little cheese on top for the last 10minutes and some scallions on top at the very end. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nestars@yahoo.com

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Great recipe! I absolutely loved it. I would add, however, tomatoes and onions next time. I made half the recipe and used 1/2 red pepper. Even for 1/2 recipe, I should've used the whole pepper. I made some brown rice with it as well. Delicious! The cumin and chili powder make it so tasty, along with the black beans. I'd love to keep it low fat, but adding some sour cream on the side is even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Really enjoyed this. Used boneless, skinless thighs and breasts and they were perfect after one hour. Added a little cheese on the top at 45 minutes. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Delicious and different! I used hot salsa and a little extra cumin and chili powder for bonus kick! We ate it over rice. An easy recipe to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parkersburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
It wasn't bad, but probably not something I'd make again. There was a little bit of a bitter aftertaste, but the chicken was very moist and juicy. I had to add salt and pepper when it was on my plate because it was too bland otherwise. I pretty much stuck to the recipe although I did use only 1.5 tablespoons of chili powder because not everyone eating it likes things spicy. I also added about a half cup of cilantro, which may have been too much. If I made it over again I'd only use a 1/4 cup as that may have been where the bitter taste was coming from. I also melted some cheddar cheese on top the last 10 minutes. It baked in about an hour for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmmhmmmgood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States