Mexican Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I followed Jillian's advice and baked at 375 for 45 minutes; I agree that any higher temp would make it dry out. However, if you're going to put cheese on top like she does, wait and do so during the last 10 minutes. It gets dried out and crusty if you put it on there from the beginning (unless you cover it with foil). I'm not a huge fan of jarred salsa, so I diced up a can of stewed tomatoes, some onion, and some garlic. It was good. Served it with a pot of Spicy saffron rice, sour cream and hot sauce. This dish isn't spectacular, but it gets the weeknight dinner job done with you're just looking for something relatively easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This was great! Really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Filleted the chicken breast to cook faster, sprinkled a little bit of low-sodium taco seasoning on each side of the chicken, mixed 3/4 can of black beans with the salsa mixture, kept the lemon (it gave it some zip) and added the last of the black beans on top of the salsa mixture. Cooked on 350 for 40 minutes, sprinkled a very small amount of cheese on each chicken breast. Awesome dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Loved this! My three year old ate his serving and asked for more, it was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Broiled instead of grilled, sooooooo good!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Very good and super easy. Top with cheddar cheese and sour cream and it's excellent! I cooked it at 375 for 45 mins. and it was already getting too dry... definitely DO NOT do the recommended 400 for 1-1.5 hrs. Halved the spices and it was still a bit spicy for my weak tastes. ;) Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Not bad! Per another reviewer, I sauteed the veggies on the stove, seared the chicken with cumin and chili pepper, then added everything else. Completely forgot about the lemon! I added cheddar cheese and fresh cilantro, and served it over rice for a complete meal. Easy, tasty, and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Mexican Chicken I Haiku: "Timing's a bit off. (If followed, would be too dry.) Otherwise, it's great!" I can't imagine baking chicken for 1+ hour at 400 deg; I did mine at 350 for just under an hour, and it was still slightly over-done, but not so much that it was inedible. All the tasty juice and moisture from the bean mixture (which, incidentally, I combined w/ the salsa, per other reviews) kept the chicken mighty tasty. My one complaint was the lemon juice - I didn't think it jived w/ the cumin and other flavors, so next time, I'd omit it all-together. I served my chicken w/ tortilla chips and cheese/sour cream/green onions for dressing up. Nummy num.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
My family loved it, but next time I would cut the chicken in smaller pieces, I did mix the beans with the sauce, was juice, dont know why tooo juicy. Will do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Bland as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States