Mexican Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I thought this was pretty good. And super easy too! It took me longer to make, but that's bc I had to cook the beans. I thought I had canned black beans, but no. I did, however, have dried black beans so I cooked them in the crockpot on high until they were done, which is what took so long! Since I didn't have a can I just added beans until it looked right. I did halve the topping and used 4 pieces of chicken--I'm very glad I did as it would've been too much otherwise. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This recipe had my three favorite qualities: It was excellent, quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This recipe was awesome....the last 10 minutes of cooking I topped with some shredded monteray jack cheese!! The family loved it...chicken was moist and all the flavors together..delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Added a bit of cheddar cheese in the last few minutes of cooking and finished with a bit of sour cream at plating. As others have said, 1-1.5 hr of cooking is way too much. Cooking that long drys out the chicken and beans. I reduced to cooking time to 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I made very few modifications to this recipe. I cut the chicken into cubes. I didnt have fresh peppers so I used a cup of frozen diced green peppers. I also, didnt have lemon juice so I used a lime. I squeezed it onto the chicken before adding the salsa mixture. I added the beans on top for the last 30 min of cooking only. Not sure why others are coming out dry. I cooked it for an hour at 350 and it was really juicy. It was even better reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
great tasting easy to make and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This was very good. Changes I made were mixing the black beans with the salsa, etc. and browning chicken tenders beforehand and changing bake time accordingly. Four of us liked it a lot. Picky #5 liked the chicken, but not the beans. I served with grated Mexican cheese on the side, and with quinoa as a side dish. Healthy, low-fat, high protein, high fiber and gluten free. It would have been really fast and easy if I hadn't browned the chicken beforehand. I think next time I'll leave that step out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB2323

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I love this dish, and often get requests for the recipe! It changes a little every time I make it based on the vegetables that I have available. As in other reviews, I mix the black beans in with the salsa so that they do not dry out. In addition, I keep a close watch on the chicken when it is in the oven so that is does not get overcooked. Overall, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winthrop, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This dish was super easy and delicious! I made the black beans per the best black beans recipe on this site before adding them on top. This gave the dish a scrumptious bonus! I also added cheddar cheese! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha & Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honaker, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States