Mexican Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This was delicious and super easy to make!! I too made changes like many others. I mixed the beans with the salsa mixture. Baked it uncovered at 350 for 1 hour. I sprinkled finely shredded Monterey jack and Colby cheese and chopped green onions on top and baked until cheese was melted. No other changes. I served it with white jasmine rice. So easy. I think this could be an excellent dish for Sunday football parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Very delicious recipe! So easy and makes chicken very moist and juicy. I did what other users said and mixed the beans and everything else together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenRioux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Simple, healthy and easily reduced for two people. I used a can of diced tomatoes and green chilies since I had no salsa, added in some diced sweet onion. I did marinate my chicken breast in the sauce for several hours before baking. I also reduced the amount of chili and cumin to our taste, added in some Mexican oregano. I baked for 50 min. at 375°, topped with some colby jack, chopped garden kale and sour cream. We will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I loved it and my boyfriend loved it. Very quick and easy. Added both lemon and lime juice. I didn't have cumin. I would recommend using less chilli powder, but definitely a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I swapped one of the cans of beans for a can of sweet corn to break it up a little bit. I think 1hr is plenty to bake and it can probably be more like 40ish min, but I haven't tried that yet. I also like to season the chicken before topping it w/ a mixture of garlic powder and chilli powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Not bad. I followed the cooking time recommended by the reviews and the chicken turned out great. I also seasoned the chicken with taco seasoning II, adding some of the same seasoning to the salsa. I also mixed in a can of black beans and corn with the salsa. I topped it with cilantro at the end and served it with Mexican rice. I'll probably make it again when I'm too rushed to make something better for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brianne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Very good for something so simple. With the tomato-based salsa and chili powder along with the beans, ended up tasting like chili on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
this was very, very good WITH my modifications: - i used boneless, skinless chicken thighs to ensure the meat was moist and tender. i braised them in EVOO with cumin, cayenne, black pepper, garlic and saizon - which adds a wonderful color to braised meats. - i also added a can of corn to the black beans to add more color to the final meal. - once the meat was braised, i added red wine to scrape the drippings. - i also added a can of dice tomatoes to the beans and corn and seasoned them to taste in a saucepan. they key is to keep tasting this and add whatever feels and tastes good@ - placed the skillet in the oven until juices ran clear then added shredded mozz on top of chicken, then layered corn, beans and tomatoes. long, short, i revised this dish a great deal. i eat with my eyes and nose, followed by my mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
My family loved this recipe. Chicken was very tender but I cut the baking time to 45 min. at 375 since the chicken breasts were not very thick. I would use less cumin & chili powder next time. A very quick meal with lots of protein!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States