Mexican Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This recipe was nothing special. I added corn and cheese on top at the end. I felt like it was missing something. The plus side was the chicken came out really moist. I cooked it at 375 instead of 400. I think the leftover corn and beans mixed with the salsa will be a nice dip though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was pretty delicious! I used one can of black beans and used green bell pepper instead of red. Used one big chicken breast half and baked this in an 8x8 glass pan, only for about 45 minutes. Delicious over Spanish rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This was so easy to make and was definitely mine and my boyfriend's favorite so far. It was juicy and full of flavor. I did take the suggestion of another reviewer and added a sprinkle of Mexican cheese and crushed blue corn tortilla chips, which was an excellent addition. I served it with the "mexican rice I" recipe from this site that I made in my rice cooker. Easy & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Who would have thought adding additional spices to already made salsa would turn out so great! I didn't have chicken breast so I used thighs & drumsticks and added a little more garlic. I only cooked it for 1hr took of the lid added some cheese and baked (top off) for another 10min. Came out nice and moist!! This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMENAIDE
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Very good! I followed others reviews and added the beans in with the salsa mixture along with some frozen corn. I reduced the heat to 375 and it was done perfectly in 50 minutes! The last 10 minutes I added sharp cheddar cheese on top and took off the cover. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GessicaAbsi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This was delicious! My husband and I loved it. The changes I made was to add some onion and taco seasoning along with the other spices and as other users suggested I added the black beans with the salsa mix. I also used a green bell pepper because I did not have a red one. I cooked for about an hour at 375, but the chicken breasts I used were larger than the ones I usually buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I was concerned that this would dry out during the cooking process but there is enough liquid in the salsa to keep it moist. I omitted the seasonings and just made it a little easier and used a packet of taco seasoning. I used half the saesoning directly on the chicken and the rest I mixed with the salsa. I used 1 can of beans and used frozen corn in place of the other can. I also added a bit of cheese! This was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Did half the recipe, and baked at 375 for 50 min. That may have been too long because the beans had dried out a bit (though still tasted good). Next time will not cook as long. Great with a little bit of sour cream or feta cheese on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I thought this was good. I will add more beans next time as I only used one can. This has a very strong cumin flavor - might reduce slightly next time. I only used 1 tbsp. of chili powder as I was afraid I would make it to spicy for my kids. I also added cheese at the end. I would recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STRAWBERRY02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This was an easy to make recipe and tasted fine, just not a favorite of mine without some modifying. I think the chicken needs to be marinated in some spices before it is baked. I think next time I would also add cheese on top for the last five minutes of baking. I halved the recipe and it took about 45 minutes. I served this with some brown rice. I think I would make this again with some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States