Mexican Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Absolutely delicious! Very easy and very quick, I needed something for a late night meal for me and my husband and this fit the bill! I cut the recipe and half and used "Taco Seasoning II" from this site to season the chicken first vs. adding it to the salsa and left out the lemon juice and garlic. I used Ortega's Medium chunky style salsa (a bit more than called for) and love the addition of black beans and chopped red pepper. After everything was layered I topped it with a light Mexican blend cheese. I then baked it at 375 for 45 minutes. Baking this at 400 for an hour and a half would result in some really dried out chicken. After it came out of the oven I dressed it up a bit by topping it off with some sliced black olives and thin sliced green onions.The chicken is tender, juicy and oh so good! It's perfect topped off with dollup of light sour cream and a side of Spanish rice - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This was ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! Yummy!! Don't bake for an hour and a half though. That's way too long. I baked for 35 minutes, but I only made 2 servings. I suggest 45 minutes for more servings. If you you bake too long, I'm afraid the beans will burn. I topped with some chopped green onions and served it with sour cream and over rice. This was a really good recipe. The chicken was nice and moist, and it's really a nice low-calorie recipe. I will for sure make again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
My husband and kids loved this recipe! I added 1/2 an onion sauted, 1 can of sliced black olives, and 1 can of chopped green chilis. I reduced the heat to 350 degrees and baked for 1 hour. I sprinkled on grated cheese for the last 5 minutes of cooking. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
I tried this recipe last night and my family loved it! I did mix the beans with the salsa and spices as others suggested. Also, omitted the pepper and added some onion. Other changes ~ baked it, covered, for an hour; then put a cup of crushed corn chips and about 1-1/2 cups shredded Mexican blend cheese on top - returned to the oven and baked, uncovered, at 350 for 15 minutes. Will definitely make this again. Thanks for an easy, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
Cooking boneless chicken breasts in a sauce in the oven really appeals to me. Little chance of dryness. However, a 400 degree oven caused the black beans to become a bit crunchy after an hour. Next time I prepare this, I will bake at 350 degrees & add the black beans in with the salsa mixture. I topped this dish with shredded muenster cheese & baked just until melted for the last few minutes. Delicious even with the slight crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
This recipe is awesome. I did add some onions to the mixture and topped it with cheese the last five minutes of baking. To stop the beans from drying out I did like one other reviewer suggested, mixed the beans into the salsa mixture. Served with Pico de Gallo and brown rice. Also had it on a warm tortilla. Will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Very tasty! A great way to get a high fibre meal into a very picky family! I cut back the cumin to 1 tbsp. and at the very end of baking I topped it with some mozza cheese. Will for sure be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
SUPERB!!! SUPERB!!! I made this receipe, and there will not be any leftovers!! Wonderful taste, texture, spice combination, and easy to prepare. After it had cooked, we cut the chicken into strips while it was still in the casserole dish and then put the chicken as well as some of the sauce and a little cheese in a tortilla, rolled it up and topped it with Sour Cream! YUMMMMMMYYYY!!! It was delicious, will totally make again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
Super easy and delicious. I made just 2 breast, so I really cut down on the other ingredients. I didn't have any bell pepper so I skipped it, and I didn't have quite enough salsa so I added some taco sauce. I baked at 375 for about 50 minutes and then added some cheddar slices and baked uncovered for another 5-10 minutes. The chicken was moist and tasty and the beans and sauce were great over rice. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Fantastic! I scaled the recipe by half, mixed the beans in with the salsa mixture like other reviewers and baked at 400 for one hour. Turned out great. Topped with a little shredded sharp cheddar and served with sour cream. With Spanish style microwave in the pouch rice, this tasty meal took vey little effort. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eecaule

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States