Mexican Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Wow. I really liked this. Not too spicy, but very flavorful. I only used 4 chicken breasts, so I also only used 1 can of beans, and that was plenty. One of my kids, who enjoys spicy foods, really liked this. The other two only ate a few bites, so it may not be all that kid friendly. My husband actually cut up the chicken, mixed it with the beans, salsa, and rice that I had made and ate it rolled in a tortilla. Versatile, easy and a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Pretty good, but not great. Like a previous reviewer said, it seemed a bit heavy, and also seemed like slightly too much cumin to me. Next time, I will add corn, use slightly less cumin, and perhaps use chicken thighs rather than chicken breasts, for more tender chicken. However, this was a very easy and pretty tasty recipe, and used mostly very common ingredients, so it gets four stars from me. I baked it at 375 for 50 minutes, and that seemed to be just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I followed everything and we enjoyed this a lot. It took over and hour to fully cook, but it ended up being perfect. I did mix the beans into the mixture as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Added beans to salsa. Baked at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lina Hershberger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
It was alright but won't be making it again. Family agreed it was not a keeper for us. Was really excited about it too after reading all the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I made this as directed (except adjusted cooking time) and my family did not care for it. I don't plan on making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
GREAT mexican style cooking at home , Made this for a pot luck holiday lucheon and everyone love it , something different easy to make I used myu electric skillet for even better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
So, so good! Loved this recipe! The best. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I loved this but my husband hated it so I'll average it as a 3. I suspect it was the flavor of the lemon and cumin that he disliked as they were very present, so next time I will either reduce or eliminate those ingredients and see if he likes that better. I cut this down to make only 2 chicken breasts for the 2 of us (400 degrees for about 30 min.) and followed the directions basically to the letter though I subbed garlic powder for crushed. I added the black beans at 15 minutes and next time would add them with 5 or 10 minutes left as they got just a smidge dried out, though they were still delicious. Served with steamed rice. I loved how simple this was. The chicken was VERY moist and I loved the little shock of lemon. I thought the flavors were great and the way it all mixed together was fun and tasty. I love black beans and this was a great, cheese-free way to have Mexican food. Again, this would have been a 4 or 5 star recipe if my husband had liked it too, but I will have to make some changes if I'm going to add this to our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I thought this was really good, but my son thought it was lacking flavor. He rated it a 3 and I rated it a 5 so it gets a 4 rating. I added a mexican cheese blend the last 5 minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States