Mexican Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Wow. I really liked this. Not too spicy, but very flavorful. I only used 4 chicken breasts, so I also only used 1 can of beans, and that was plenty. One of my kids, who enjoys spicy foods, really liked this. The other two only ate a few bites, so it may not be all that kid friendly. My husband actually cut up the chicken, mixed it with the beans, salsa, and rice that I had made and ate it rolled in a tortilla. Versatile, easy and a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Pretty good, but not great. Like a previous reviewer said, it seemed a bit heavy, and also seemed like slightly too much cumin to me. Next time, I will add corn, use slightly less cumin, and perhaps use chicken thighs rather than chicken breasts, for more tender chicken. However, this was a very easy and pretty tasty recipe, and used mostly very common ingredients, so it gets four stars from me. I baked it at 375 for 50 minutes, and that seemed to be just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I followed everything and we enjoyed this a lot. It took over and hour to fully cook, but it ended up being perfect. I did mix the beans into the mixture as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Added beans to salsa. Baked at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lina Hershberger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
It was alright but won't be making it again. Family agreed it was not a keeper for us. Was really excited about it too after reading all the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I made this as directed (except adjusted cooking time) and my family did not care for it. I don't plan on making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
GREAT mexican style cooking at home , Made this for a pot luck holiday lucheon and everyone love it , something different easy to make I used myu electric skillet for even better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
So, so good! Loved this recipe! The best. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I loved this but my husband hated it so I'll average it as a 3. I suspect it was the flavor of the lemon and cumin that he disliked as they were very present, so next time I will either reduce or eliminate those ingredients and see if he likes that better. I cut this down to make only 2 chicken breasts for the 2 of us (400 degrees for about 30 min.) and followed the directions basically to the letter though I subbed garlic powder for crushed. I added the black beans at 15 minutes and next time would add them with 5 or 10 minutes left as they got just a smidge dried out, though they were still delicious. Served with steamed rice. I loved how simple this was. The chicken was VERY moist and I loved the little shock of lemon. I thought the flavors were great and the way it all mixed together was fun and tasty. I love black beans and this was a great, cheese-free way to have Mexican food. Again, this would have been a 4 or 5 star recipe if my husband had liked it too, but I will have to make some changes if I'm going to add this to our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I thought this was really good, but my son thought it was lacking flavor. He rated it a 3 and I rated it a 5 so it gets a 4 rating. I added a mexican cheese blend the last 5 minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States