Mexican Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Really enjoyed this. Used boneless, skinless thighs and breasts and they were perfect after one hour. Added a little cheese on the top at 45 minutes. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Delicious and different! I used hot salsa and a little extra cumin and chili powder for bonus kick! We ate it over rice. An easy recipe to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parkersburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
It wasn't bad, but probably not something I'd make again. There was a little bit of a bitter aftertaste, but the chicken was very moist and juicy. I had to add salt and pepper when it was on my plate because it was too bland otherwise. I pretty much stuck to the recipe although I did use only 1.5 tablespoons of chili powder because not everyone eating it likes things spicy. I also added about a half cup of cilantro, which may have been too much. If I made it over again I'd only use a 1/4 cup as that may have been where the bitter taste was coming from. I also melted some cheddar cheese on top the last 10 minutes. It baked in about an hour for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmmhmmmgood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I was looking for a good black bean recipe and I stumbled upon this one, it exceeded my expectations! I've never been able to cook such tender, juicy chicken breast until this dish came along. The only alteration I made was instead of using a jar of salsa, I diced up fresh roma tomatoes and added sauteed onions. I followed people's advice of mixing in the black bean with my tomato/onion. I topped the dish off with brown rice and a side salad. A wonderful, low fat and fulfilling dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Absolutely delicious! Very easy and very quick, I needed something for a late night meal for me and my husband and this fit the bill! I cut the recipe and half and used "Taco Seasoning II" from this site to season the chicken first vs. adding it to the salsa and left out the lemon juice and garlic. I used Ortega's Medium chunky style salsa (a bit more than called for) and love the addition of black beans and chopped red pepper. After everything was layered I topped it with a light Mexican blend cheese. I then baked it at 375 for 45 minutes. Baking this at 400 for an hour and a half would result in some really dried out chicken. After it came out of the oven I dressed it up a bit by topping it off with some sliced black olives and thin sliced green onions.The chicken is tender, juicy and oh so good! It's perfect topped off with dollup of light sour cream and a side of Spanish rice - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Fantastic!!!! I made this last week and my husband literally raved about it. Which is saying a lot because he absolutely never raves. So good I had to share this recipe with several friends. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darla Grandberry-Segura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
It was simple and a really nice change from the normal. I added corn to lighten it up and served over yellow rice with sliced avocado. It is very filling. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mnk.thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I was surprised at how GOOD this was! I was just looking for something quick and easy with little fuss to make for dinner and was shocked at the wonderful flavor! I used 4 large chicken breast halves. I sauted onion and green pepper and mixed with the salsa, also mixed the black beans in. I only used one Tbsp of cumin and one can of black beans and it was plenty. I baked it for 1 hour at 350. Then I shreded the chicken and mixed it in with the sauce. I served it with rice. Would be amazing in tortillas this way. Thanks for a great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I love this recipe! The only thing I change is that I use 2 teaspoons each of ground cumin and chili powder (as opposed to 2 tablespoons). I also mix the beans in with the salsa mixture to prevent from drying. I cover the casserole dish with aluminum foil and bake for 1.5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Delicioso! I used white corn salsa, black beans, chili powder, minced garlic, black pepper, and lime juice. I didn't use any measurements, just a discerning eye. I baked the chicken at 350 degrees for 1 hour. At the end of that hour, I rough chopped some cilantro, sprinkled that onto the chicken then covered with a Mexican blended shredded cheese. Served everything on top of a bed of yellow rice. Turned out perfect on the first try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States