Mexican Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I thought this was pretty good. And super easy too! It took me longer to make, but that's bc I had to cook the beans. I thought I had canned black beans, but no. I did, however, have dried black beans so I cooked them in the crockpot on high until they were done, which is what took so long! Since I didn't have a can I just added beans until it looked right. I did halve the topping and used 4 pieces of chicken--I'm very glad I did as it would've been too much otherwise. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This recipe had my three favorite qualities: It was excellent, quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This recipe was awesome....the last 10 minutes of cooking I topped with some shredded monteray jack cheese!! The family loved it...chicken was moist and all the flavors together..delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Added a bit of cheddar cheese in the last few minutes of cooking and finished with a bit of sour cream at plating. As others have said, 1-1.5 hr of cooking is way too much. Cooking that long drys out the chicken and beans. I reduced to cooking time to 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I made very few modifications to this recipe. I cut the chicken into cubes. I didnt have fresh peppers so I used a cup of frozen diced green peppers. I also, didnt have lemon juice so I used a lime. I squeezed it onto the chicken before adding the salsa mixture. I added the beans on top for the last 30 min of cooking only. Not sure why others are coming out dry. I cooked it for an hour at 350 and it was really juicy. It was even better reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
great tasting easy to make and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This was very good. Changes I made were mixing the black beans with the salsa, etc. and browning chicken tenders beforehand and changing bake time accordingly. Four of us liked it a lot. Picky #5 liked the chicken, but not the beans. I served with grated Mexican cheese on the side, and with quinoa as a side dish. Healthy, low-fat, high protein, high fiber and gluten free. It would have been really fast and easy if I hadn't browned the chicken beforehand. I think next time I'll leave that step out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB2323

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I love this dish, and often get requests for the recipe! It changes a little every time I make it based on the vegetables that I have available. As in other reviews, I mix the black beans in with the salsa so that they do not dry out. In addition, I keep a close watch on the chicken when it is in the oven so that is does not get overcooked. Overall, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winthrop, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This dish was super easy and delicious! I made the black beans per the best black beans recipe on this site before adding them on top. This gave the dish a scrumptious bonus! I also added cheddar cheese! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha & Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honaker, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States