Mexican Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Why did I wait so long to try this recipe? It's delicious, simple, and very easily tweaked. I side with the chowder purists who insist on potatoes (or it isn't chowder), but I diced up some redskins so they added a little color, too. I increased the garlic and cumin to my tastes, and I always use the jarred "Better Than Bullion" paste in lieu of either broth or bullion. This could easily be dressed up for guests, and I am betting that it will make a fabulous leftover - already looking forward to tomorrow's lunch! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Very good! I used my crock pot and just put in frozen chicken breast with the water, garlic, butter, bouillon, chiles, onions, and cumin. Once cooked I shredded the chicken and added the remaining ingredients. Followed the recipe except didn't add the hot sauce, used a bag of frozen corn instead of creamed and added a can of roasted tomatoes. Garnished with lots for cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I tend to stay away from soup-like-recipes because they intimidate me (for whatever irrational reason!), but this one was very easy to prepare and turned out great! I used boneless skinless chicken thighs instead of breasts (my husband prefers dark meat), and fresh rather than canned chili peppers. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and I absolutely loved it. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Flossiegirl
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This is a perfect recipe for a cold day enjoyed by a fire. Instead of chicken breasts I used chicken thighs (the dark meat has much more flavor). I boiled the thighs in water with a sprinkle of seasoned salt, garlic powder, and paprika. I also added potatoes and 1 can of regular sweet corn with the creamed. I only added half the cheese at the end so you could add your own when served. Really easy, really filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Only thing I changed was adding smoked jalapeño Tabasco, potatoes, and cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tino Amaya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Awesome recipe! My husband definitely liked the flavors and requests this soup often. Used boneless skinless thighs instead of breasts. We tried it with half and half, but prefer to add no milk. It's a chunky, hearty soup when you leave out the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Stef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Royalton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Made this today. Added a can of broth and one chicken cube, black beans and a additional can of whole corn kernels. Perfect for this cold day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I LOVE this recipe. I made a few modifications to my own personal taste. First, I shredded the meat off of a rotisserie chicken. I added a little less than a cup of chicken stock I had in the fridge in addition to the cup of hot water with bouillon cube just because I was worried there wouldn't be enough liquid after not cooking the chicken with the onion and garlic. I also added a can of whole kernel corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Really good! I added home made salsa and grated squash and some diced tomato and instead of canned chilies I diced up a little jalapeño
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Yummy!!!!! I couldn't get enough of it. Tastes great the way it is. I cut the recipe in half because there's only me and my husband. But I'm definitely making the full batch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States