Mexican Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
This chowder was GREAT. I made a few changes, but the basic recipe is really yummy. Instead of the half and half cream, I used a can of evaporated skim milk (to kind of cut the fat content). I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs, since that was all I had. Also added some frozen corn with the creamed corn & some cubed potatoes and carrots. The carrots gave it a little color and the potatoes I added because a chowder isn't a chowder unless there's potatoes in it! They also thickened it up a little. Finally, I didn't add the cheese into the soup, I served it as a garnish. Overall, a wonderful, filling and comforting dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
This is one of my family's favorite soups as well. I double the recipe and start by making a stock (eliminating the need for boullion) by boiling a whole cut up chicken (bone-in breasts will do as well) in about 4c. water with a couple of tb. salt. After the stock is done, pick the meat from the skin and bones. Start the onions and garlic and just throw in the pulled chicken when the the onions and garlic are about half done. Strain the stock with a colander or like utinsel and add back in a cup instead of the boullion! I add at least 1 or 2 tb. of salt (by taste while cooking) to make up for what is lost by not using boullion. I also double the creamed corn. The soup is thicker, the meat is pulled instead of chunked for a more wonderful texture, and the whole thing has a more homemade feel. An excellent recipe originally or modified!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
This was awesome!!! I used chicken broth instead of the hot water and chicken boullion cube as suggested. I also used diced tomatoes with green chilies and I put in some chopped up canned potatoes. I added a little more hot sauce then suggested. I served it with tostada chips and lots of cilantro. My boyfriend is from mexico and he loved it, he said it was excellent and ate atleast 3 bowls for dinner and had some for breakfast the next morning. This is definitely a keeper. The only thing I would add to it next time is some more hot sauce and and maybe some more chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
I'm giving this a 5* rating because I loved the flavor. I added extra cumin, chili powder, cilantro while cooking and two cans of each ingredient instead of one. Also used heavy whipping cream instead of half and half. Let this reduce and it became a nice thick chowder. This is a chowder and not a soup so expect it to be thicker. Also used shredded chedder and monterrey jack cheese instead of just the monterrey jack. Cannot wait for my husband to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
This is my favorite soup all year round! It has a great flavor that's not too thick, and can be spiced up or left not-so-hot. I use a large can of chicken broth in place of the water & boullion (by suggestion of my Grandma) and leave the tomatoes out sometimes (depending on who is being served). HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This is wonderful!!!! I used a rotisseri chicken and instead of the tomato and green chilies I used a can of Rotel. I also added a chopped jalapeno to the onions. YUMMYYYYY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
I have made this twice in the last week and both times were wonderful! Nice twist and taste! The first time, I followed the recipe almost to the letter (only using canned diced tomatoes-drained-instead of peeling/cutting). The second time, I added a little more chicken, sauted with 1/2c chopped green bell pepper, used a whole can of chicken broth instead of buillon cubes, some whole corn kernals in addition to the creamed corn and a little more cheese. Wonderful. Everyone in my family loves this and I will continue to make this again and again! Thanks so much Jeanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
this chowder was fantastic!! i added some frozen corn and some cubed potatoes to make it a little heartier, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Delicious and unbelievably easy! I made this for my family for Christmas Eve, and it was a big hit. I used shredded chicken, chicken broth instead of bouillon, omitted the pepper sauce, and added about a cup of frozen corn kernels, and served it with crushed tortillas and chopped cilantro. I read a lot of reviews that omitted the tomato, but I would say it is necessary for color and a bit of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
I thought this rocked...although I skipped tomatoes but ended up using red peppers with the onions. This added nice color...Also, I added an extra can of corn. I liked it more thick. Also make sure you used good spicy pepper jack. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States