Mexican Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I wish I could say that I followed this recipe, but more used it for inspiration for what I had on-hand and it turned out DIVINE (and I have to type it up so that I can refer to it later ;-) YUM. I didn't have half and half, only had regular canned corn, fresh green chiles and no tomatoes. First, I made a stock using 6 chicken thighs and a bit of salt. I just filled a pan 3/4 of the way with water, put the thighs in, doused in salt, and simmered for about an hour. I put the chicken on a cutting board to cool and poured the stock into a cup 'til I needed it. Then I browned the onion/garlic and put the chicken in when that was almost done. Poured two cups of stock over that, and the cumin. Simmered that for a few minutes, then poured one cup of milk (didn't have half and half, so more stock + some milk). Added everything else (regular corn and no bouillon or tomatoes, as I said before) and simmered for a while. Then I tossed in some cream cheese and used cheddar instead of montey jack, and melted the cheese. It tasted wonderful hot off the stove, but I think it was better after it got cold. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mission Beach, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I love this recipe except I made a couple changes. Because I live in the Caribbean and don't have access to a Dutch oven I used my crock pot. I sautéed the chicken, onion and garlic in a lot along with 3 finely diced potatoes. At the same time I boiled 2 cups water with a premixed packet of chicken stock ( could substitute with 2 cups chicken broth) cumin and chili powder in the crockpot. When it was boiling I added the sautéed mixture and stirred. After about 5 minutes on warm I added the rest of the ingredients. And wow! Everyone who ate it said it was amazing! And it was easy to keep warm. Served it with crackers. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Wonderful on a cold night! The changes I made were adding some sliced carrots, potatoes, a little extra garlic, and extra hot sauce. My husband was an instant fan - Will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Awesome!! I used home made cream corn that was left over from the night before. I have request for this one again and again since making it. This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Great base recipe. It really needed punched it up because it was was too bland for our taste. I added a small can of diced jalapenos, much more cumin, chili powder and I chopped up some red bell pepper. Added a can of corn and a can of chicken broth in place of boullion as others suggested as well. The result was fantastic. Will definitely make again with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeeSweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gloucester Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This is AMAZING but mostly as a base before making your own changes, as I made huge changes and everybody loved it! I add more garlic, evaporated milk instead of half and half, old cheddar instead of Monterey Jack, a can of sweet kernel corn [in addition to the creamed corn], kidney beans, chopped potatoes, a little bit of either taco or chili seasoning, and both salsa and taco sauce to give it that kick! It is super hearty and delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Simply delicious! The only changes I made to it were to use 1 cup sodium free broth instead of the bouillon cubes/water and add three medium chopped potatoes which I had pre-baked (after all, it is chowder). I also added a can of corn kernels. I have to say that next time I would try to lighten it up by using lower fat monterey jack cheese and evaporated skim milk because, as written, it's definitely not figure friendly soup. Definitely comfort food for those cold winter nights. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
this was very good. needs tweaking w/spices. very bland as written. upped the cumin and garlic. added chopped cilantro to the soup itself for flavor. Used fat free half and half and noticed no difference in flavor. Definitely needs a can of regular corn. the creamed version gets 'lost' in the soup..only a kernel here and there. So quick and easy. very yummy w/tweaking. will definitely make again. *didn't use bouillon..1 cup canned chicken broth instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This is a really good base recipe to start off with and put your own twist on. I'm not really sure how to rate this, since it was a good start, but I did change it up a bit to suit my own tastes. I used oil instead of butter and sauteed the onion and garlic with a diced red bell pepper and jalapeno. I then added the chicken to brown. Used stock instead of bouillon, and about double the cumin, as well as adding in some chile pepper and cayenne (I like things spicier). At this time I also added the creamed corn as well as some frozen whole kernels (per other reviewers suggestions). I omitted the tomatoes and hot sauce. I let things simmer for a bit and then added the cream and only about a cup or so of cheese (not a huge cheese fan) but grated more to use as a topping. Also served with crunched up tortilla chips. Wasn't super thick, but had a nice flavor and texture to it. My significant other REALLY enjoyed it, so thank you for a great recipe base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States