Mexican Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Wonderful on a cold night! The changes I made were adding some sliced carrots, potatoes, a little extra garlic, and extra hot sauce. My husband was an instant fan - Will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Awesome!! I used home made cream corn that was left over from the night before. I have request for this one again and again since making it. This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Great base recipe. It really needed punched it up because it was was too bland for our taste. I added a small can of diced jalapenos, much more cumin, chili powder and I chopped up some red bell pepper. Added a can of corn and a can of chicken broth in place of boullion as others suggested as well. The result was fantastic. Will definitely make again with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeeSweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gloucester Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This is AMAZING but mostly as a base before making your own changes, as I made huge changes and everybody loved it! I add more garlic, evaporated milk instead of half and half, old cheddar instead of Monterey Jack, a can of sweet kernel corn [in addition to the creamed corn], kidney beans, chopped potatoes, a little bit of either taco or chili seasoning, and both salsa and taco sauce to give it that kick! It is super hearty and delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Simply delicious! The only changes I made to it were to use 1 cup sodium free broth instead of the bouillon cubes/water and add three medium chopped potatoes which I had pre-baked (after all, it is chowder). I also added a can of corn kernels. I have to say that next time I would try to lighten it up by using lower fat monterey jack cheese and evaporated skim milk because, as written, it's definitely not figure friendly soup. Definitely comfort food for those cold winter nights. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
this was very good. needs tweaking w/spices. very bland as written. upped the cumin and garlic. added chopped cilantro to the soup itself for flavor. Used fat free half and half and noticed no difference in flavor. Definitely needs a can of regular corn. the creamed version gets 'lost' in the soup..only a kernel here and there. So quick and easy. very yummy w/tweaking. will definitely make again. *didn't use bouillon..1 cup canned chicken broth instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This is a really good base recipe to start off with and put your own twist on. I'm not really sure how to rate this, since it was a good start, but I did change it up a bit to suit my own tastes. I used oil instead of butter and sauteed the onion and garlic with a diced red bell pepper and jalapeno. I then added the chicken to brown. Used stock instead of bouillon, and about double the cumin, as well as adding in some chile pepper and cayenne (I like things spicier). At this time I also added the creamed corn as well as some frozen whole kernels (per other reviewers suggestions). I omitted the tomatoes and hot sauce. I let things simmer for a bit and then added the cream and only about a cup or so of cheese (not a huge cheese fan) but grated more to use as a topping. Also served with crunched up tortilla chips. Wasn't super thick, but had a nice flavor and texture to it. My significant other REALLY enjoyed it, so thank you for a great recipe base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
this is a good base, however needed some serious spicing up. the "mexican" flavor was super mild. if i make it again, i would at least double the cumin, and sub diced jalepenos for the green chiles. i also chose to use fat free half and half for the cream, which worked out fine for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I made this recipe for a house warming party last night and it was a hit. I made some alterations that made it easier I believe. I boiled the chicken along with some garlic. I than used the broth from the chicken and kind of followed the rest of the recipe to the T. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 443) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States