Mexican Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I made this soup for my family the other night and they loved it! I used 2 cans of chicken broth and creamed corn. I also added potatoes, carrots,corn kernels, 1 can fire roasted tomatoes, and chipotle chili powder. My family asked me to make this again tonight. This will be a staple this fall/winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Great recipe however it was a tad bit thin, so I added about 1 tsp of corn starch and brought it to a boil which helped thicken it just a little to make it that perfect thickness. Loved this recipe and so did everyone in my house! also, hot water from he tap didn't dissolve the bullion cubes! Had to use boiling water to do so.. Still loved it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Nice soup. I had cooked chicken and a lot of corn on the cob leftover after a dinner party last night, so this recipe fit the bill. I added shredded cooked chicken after sauteing the onion and garlic (in 1 tbsp veg oil, not butter). I cut the corn off the cobs and then blackened them in a dry cast iron pan, then added them to the soup when the recipe called for them. I also used homemade chicken stock - you really can't beat it for flavour. I didn't want a really rich, high calorie soup, so I used milk instead of cream, adding a little corn starch to help thicken it. I also used half the cheese called for. Next time I make it, I'll use fresh chilies instead of jarred to give the soup a bit more heat. But otherwise, I can't think of much of anything that I'd change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Does Sallad

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Very tasty, not too spicy for the wimps in my family. I did not use heavy cream, substituted milk, not as thick but still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I made some slight modifications. I cooked the chicken with the onions and garlic and then shredded it after it was cooked and added it back. I used chicken broth. I used a can of diced tomatoes with green chills. I used heavy cream. I added another can of regular corn. It was good, but I think it needed more flavor. Next time I will shred my own pepper jack cheese the pre-shredded doesn't have the same spicy flavor to me. I will also will add more onion. The dash of hot sauce is a must. Also, if you want the really chowder feel to it you have to let it cook much longer. When we went to clean up after dinner it was so much thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
This was pretty good. Had to tweak it like some of the other suggestions. Will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
A terrific chowder! I made this last night for my boyfriend after he came home from a cold, rainy golf day. It was a perfect cool weather chowder. I added diced potatoes to give it some more substance, a can of corn and also added carrots for color. I also cheated and pulled meat from a rotisserie chicken. I omitted the tomato since I don't love them. Overall a very hearty chowder and I would highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Very good stuff! But unfortunately on the fattening side. (And "fat free" half & half sounds like a bit of an oxymoron!) I do not like pieces of chilies or peppers so I cheat with the dry powdered stuff, but since the jar was sitting there I grabbed that when I went for the cumin and it was a bit hotter. But it was no big deal - I thought this was close to a spice level that I would like so I can just adjust next time and see how I like it. I also just tossed some tomato on top for garnish and never put it in the soup. I didn't add any potatoes or anything -- just TRY without them and see what you think. I do like the idea of using a crock pot and then shredding the chicken - cutting up raw chicken is not my favorite activity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
We've enjoyed this several times. Have cut back on the heat because of our child, but my husband just adds back in when he dishes it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This was awesome. My boyfriend loved it, took it to work where it got a 5 star rating. Definitely will make this for the family again. Made it a second time but substituted the chicken for crab meat. Turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States