Mexican Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
While I modified this a little bit to use what I had on hand, I found this to be a perfectly flavorful, delicious, and comforting soup - perfect for lunch after spending the morning raking leaves! I used canned stock, since I prefer to use less sodium. And chose evaporated milk over half/half, since I had that on hand too. My tomatoes were from leftover homemade marinara sauce from the freezer and it worked beautifully. A little extra frozen whole kernal corn, and I was set! --I tend to try all sorts of new recipes; my boyfriend requested I stick with this one (or at least remember it). :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This soup was DELICIOUS! I followed the recipe exactly and it came out great. My husband absolutely loved it as well. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pinky
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
My first time making a corn chowder turned out pretty good. I used chicken broth instead of bouillon (which makes a big diff), I couldn't monterey jack cheese so I used pepper jack and one can of cream and regular corn and it was delish! I only had one bowl, my husband had too and burnt the whole pot reheating it! I was disappointed but I'm excited to make it again so I can work on enhancing the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This soup was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!!!! Honestly this was restaurant quality soup!!!! I used 5 cups water, with 4 boullion cubes in it first, boiled my chicken breast in that first, with the onion and garlic, and seasoning...then took chicken out to pull apart, added rest of ingredients to stock pot and put chicken back in...i didn't garnish with cilantro because instead of tomatoes, i used ROTEL mexican with lime and cilantro in it!!! This was fabulous and i will make this again and again!!!! **oh, and instead of half and half (didn't have any) i used a can of evaporated milk! the end :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I made this soup for my family the other night and they loved it! I used 2 cans of chicken broth and creamed corn. I also added potatoes, carrots,corn kernels, 1 can fire roasted tomatoes, and chipotle chili powder. My family asked me to make this again tonight. This will be a staple this fall/winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Great recipe however it was a tad bit thin, so I added about 1 tsp of corn starch and brought it to a boil which helped thicken it just a little to make it that perfect thickness. Loved this recipe and so did everyone in my house! also, hot water from he tap didn't dissolve the bullion cubes! Had to use boiling water to do so.. Still loved it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Nice soup. I had cooked chicken and a lot of corn on the cob leftover after a dinner party last night, so this recipe fit the bill. I added shredded cooked chicken after sauteing the onion and garlic (in 1 tbsp veg oil, not butter). I cut the corn off the cobs and then blackened them in a dry cast iron pan, then added them to the soup when the recipe called for them. I also used homemade chicken stock - you really can't beat it for flavour. I didn't want a really rich, high calorie soup, so I used milk instead of cream, adding a little corn starch to help thicken it. I also used half the cheese called for. Next time I make it, I'll use fresh chilies instead of jarred to give the soup a bit more heat. But otherwise, I can't think of much of anything that I'd change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Does Sallad

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Very tasty, not too spicy for the wimps in my family. I did not use heavy cream, substituted milk, not as thick but still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I made some slight modifications. I cooked the chicken with the onions and garlic and then shredded it after it was cooked and added it back. I used chicken broth. I used a can of diced tomatoes with green chills. I used heavy cream. I added another can of regular corn. It was good, but I think it needed more flavor. Next time I will shred my own pepper jack cheese the pre-shredded doesn't have the same spicy flavor to me. I will also will add more onion. The dash of hot sauce is a must. Also, if you want the really chowder feel to it you have to let it cook much longer. When we went to clean up after dinner it was so much thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
This was pretty good. Had to tweak it like some of the other suggestions. Will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States