Mexican Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I doubled this recipe. Instead of bouillion cubes and water, I used chicken broth. I did cut the milk by half and used chicken broth. I also used evaporated milk instead of half-n-half. Not a bad soup, it needed a little spicing up before serving it. This was quick to make (less than a half hour including making grilled cheese) and made a filling dinner with the spicy grilled cheese sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This soup was amazing- very delicious. I did take someones suggestion of adding 3 sliced (cut into cubes) corn tortillas about 15 minutes prior to serving and then adding 2 cut up flour tortillas about 5 mintues before serving. I also used 2% milk as I didn't have any half and half and used chicken thigh meat as I was out of chicken breast. Amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Awesome chowder, full of flavor. Next time Im going to add a little less half and half but other than that - superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Loved it! Used roasted tomatoes from my garden in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
i added bacon to it and diced jalepenos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMMAJAMMA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Aiea, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I didn't have everything on hand so I changed a few things. I used 2 Cups chicken stock and 1 C light cream. I used less cheese only 1 Cup. Didn't have clilis so I used a bit of frozen corn with peppers in it instead. Also substituted dried cilantro for fresh. The family loved it but thought it would be better without the chicken. I found this interesting considering we are meat eaters. Great base recipe. Have fun with it. Thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Made the recipe according to the directions and the taste was outstanding. All I would add for MY family is shredded habanero cheese which is now available to give it more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neepawa, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Weslaco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
While I modified this a little bit to use what I had on hand, I found this to be a perfectly flavorful, delicious, and comforting soup - perfect for lunch after spending the morning raking leaves! I used canned stock, since I prefer to use less sodium. And chose evaporated milk over half/half, since I had that on hand too. My tomatoes were from leftover homemade marinara sauce from the freezer and it worked beautifully. A little extra frozen whole kernal corn, and I was set! --I tend to try all sorts of new recipes; my boyfriend requested I stick with this one (or at least remember it). :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This soup was DELICIOUS! I followed the recipe exactly and it came out great. My husband absolutely loved it as well. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pinky
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
My first time making a corn chowder turned out pretty good. I used chicken broth instead of bouillon (which makes a big diff), I couldn't monterey jack cheese so I used pepper jack and one can of cream and regular corn and it was delish! I only had one bowl, my husband had too and burnt the whole pot reheating it! I was disappointed but I'm excited to make it again so I can work on enhancing the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 446) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States