Mexican Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I'm giving this five stars because with a small adjustment, that's what it is. I just had to add some extra cumin, black pepper, and some chili powder. We loved this and will make it again. I made it in my slow cooker. I sauteed the onion and garlic in the butter, transferred it to the slow cooker, added two FROZEN chicken breasts, and everything else EXCEPT the half-and-half. I cooked on low for 7 hours and then removed the chicken to shred. I added the shredded chicken back into the slow cooker along with the half-and-half, adjusted the spices (added), and then cooked for about 20 minutes more. Topped with shredded pepper jack instead for added flavor. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
My husband loves this recipe and it takes a lot to get that review from him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I used fresh corn sliced off the cob (5 ears) instead of canned creamed corn. It was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Springs, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This was alright. While I liked this, I'm not sure I'd want to make this again. As is, this is a very "soupy" chowder. I like my chowder thick, but that's an easy fix and is by no means a deal breaker for me. What I didn't like about this was how mild this was. This could use quite a bit of spice, IMHO. In an attempt to remedy both the texture and up the flavor factor, I made a few changes. I added an additional can of (Mexi-blend) corn for added bulk and subbed a shredded rotisserie chicken in lieu of cubed chicken (personal preference). My biggest change was to omit the fresh tomato and canned chiles in favor of a small container of fresh pico de gallo. I absolutely LOOOVED the zip that the pico added, but even with this change, I just wasn't wowed. :( Plain and simple, this just needs too much tweaking to suit my tastes. Thanks anyways, Jeanne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
My family really enjoyed this soup. The flavors work really well together in the recipe. I made as written, but forgot to add the tomatoes before photographing the dish. This will be repeated in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Easy to make and delicious. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I added a pinch of chili powder and 1 more can of corn, as recommended by the reviewers. I wish I had only used the suggested 1, however, because sweetness was the dominant taste of the chowder, followed only later by the saltiness and spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
A great recipe for family gatherings. Be careful to keep the temp. And simmer time down just before and after adding the cream to avoid curdling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaBear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Quite tasty - added the chipotle powder that another reviewer suggested and extra hot pepper sauce 'cause we like it hot and spicy. Chowders are really not supposed to be thick - I added plain milk instead of the heavy cream and added corn niblets. My family really enjoyed it. As always, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Made this for a football playoff game.....AMAZING !!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States