Mexican Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
My husband said to repeat this meal! We used fresh corn, tomatoes, potato and added fresh peppers. I used fat free half and half and my husband thought it was still very creamy (he is picky about fat free). Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
YUMMMY! One of my Favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieBelcher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
A very tasty chowder. I made it a little differently - boiled the chicken in water with cumin and cayenne pepper, then shredded it and added to the other ingredients. I also added a can of potatoes and a few handfuls of crinkle-cut carrots. I used fat free half and half and chicken stock instead of the bouillon. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Wow! This recipe was amazing! I made a few slight changes to adjust to my family's tastes as well as a reduction in calories. I doubled the recipe but cut the butter content in half and substituted olive oil. I also used chicken broth instead of bouillon because most of bouillons contain MSG. I also added a 1/4 t. of cayenne pepper instead of hot sauce while the chicken was cooking. In addition, I reduced the amount of half and half and used whole milk in it's placed. I felt mine needed to thicken a little so I added a touch of corn starch. And the biggest change of all was my BIGGEST recommendation which is SKIP the canned cream-style corn and make your own. It is so easy! I used the "Brookview Hotel Cream-style Corn" recipe from here. My very picky daughter kept telling me how sweet and spicy it was; that it was delicious and my hubby went back for thirds!!! Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Disney Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Great flavorful soup! I used whole milk in place of the cream and regular low-sodium corn because I didn't have any creamed corn, and this turned out great. I also used Pepper Jack cheese which added a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I loved this chowder. I did add potatoes to it as another reviewer suggested and used Rotel instead of the tomato and green chilis. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
We've had this multiple times now and are still in love with it. Unlike many other soups, this one has tons of flavor. We've made it exactly as the recipes states, as well as mixing it up. Either way, well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Great flavor and easy to make. 2 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This was good just not great. I do think a very good base to build on though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Substituted FF evaporated milk for the cream and used mexican blend cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 463) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States