Mexican Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
this is a good base, however needed some serious spicing up. the "mexican" flavor was super mild. if i make it again, i would at least double the cumin, and sub diced jalepenos for the green chiles. i also chose to use fat free half and half for the cream, which worked out fine for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I made this recipe for a house warming party last night and it was a hit. I made some alterations that made it easier I believe. I boiled the chicken along with some garlic. I than used the broth from the chicken and kind of followed the rest of the recipe to the T. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This turned out great! I didn't have any creamed corn on hand so I used 2 cans of kernel corn with some extra half and half and a touch of sugar. My 8 year old son says "it was one of the best soups ever!" Thanks for the recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
We love this chowder! I have to leave the onion out, but only because it doesn't agree with my husband. I sometimes add an extra can of cream-style corn, but it is perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This is WONDERFUL! I took this soup to a Crock Pot/Pot Luck at school and it was one of the few soups that was gone at the end of lunch. GONE! I cooked my chicken ahead of time and just dumped everything else in and let it cook on low for about 4 hours. The only additions I made was a can of Rotel and a little bit of chili powder and i used fat free half and half. ****Next time I make this in a slow cooker, I will wait until about 30 minutes before serving to add the cream as it did start seperate a little, but no one seemed to mind:) Don't leave off the fresh tomato and cilantro it adds that little bit of texture to make this soup perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio Vista, Texas, USA
Living In: Cleburne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This recipe is delicious! I basically followed it exactly, only I did not have a whole fresh tomato, so I took whole canned tomatoes (4 of them because they were small tomatoes) and tore them into small pieces. I also only had cheddar cheese, so that is what I used instead, and I did not have half and half, so I made my own using half skim milk and half heavy whipping cream. I also used 1 cup or chicken broth instead of bouillon cubes. Turned out so good, my husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
simple and tasty, added a bit more cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda879

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Scappoose, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Very nice. Did not need any cayenne or hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was fantastic! Full of flavor, great consistency, just delicious. Instead of half and half I used 2 cups of fat free evaporated milk, a healthy substitute and you would NEVER know that it wasn't half and half in the soup as it still maintained a nice creamy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I have been making this recipe for 10 years. My whole family loves it! Everytime I take it somewhere everyone always asks for the recipe. I made it for my parents 40th anniversary party. Everyone raves about it. I stopped measuring things a long time ago and just dump it in my crockpot. I use precooked chicken and frozen corn. Mmmm! Try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States