Mexican Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
simple and tasty, added a bit more cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda879

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Scappoose, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Very nice. Did not need any cayenne or hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was fantastic! Full of flavor, great consistency, just delicious. Instead of half and half I used 2 cups of fat free evaporated milk, a healthy substitute and you would NEVER know that it wasn't half and half in the soup as it still maintained a nice creamy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I have been making this recipe for 10 years. My whole family loves it! Everytime I take it somewhere everyone always asks for the recipe. I made it for my parents 40th anniversary party. Everyone raves about it. I stopped measuring things a long time ago and just dump it in my crockpot. I use precooked chicken and frozen corn. Mmmm! Try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
It was fabulous.... I added 2 pieces of left over seasoned chicken breast, added 1 addition can of regular corn, only had 1 cup of cream (Which still worked out). I loved it. I think this will be a huge hit with my kids too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Vescio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This did not thicken up for me and form a chowder, was a thin soup. I added fresh corn and am glad I did otherwise I don't think we'd have had a strong corn taste. Not sure I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
My husband said to repeat this meal! We used fresh corn, tomatoes, potato and added fresh peppers. I used fat free half and half and my husband thought it was still very creamy (he is picky about fat free). Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
YUMMMY! One of my Favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieBelcher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
A very tasty chowder. I made it a little differently - boiled the chicken in water with cumin and cayenne pepper, then shredded it and added to the other ingredients. I also added a can of potatoes and a few handfuls of crinkle-cut carrots. I used fat free half and half and chicken stock instead of the bouillon. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Wow! This recipe was amazing! I made a few slight changes to adjust to my family's tastes as well as a reduction in calories. I doubled the recipe but cut the butter content in half and substituted olive oil. I also used chicken broth instead of bouillon because most of bouillons contain MSG. I also added a 1/4 t. of cayenne pepper instead of hot sauce while the chicken was cooking. In addition, I reduced the amount of half and half and used whole milk in it's placed. I felt mine needed to thicken a little so I added a touch of corn starch. And the biggest change of all was my BIGGEST recommendation which is SKIP the canned cream-style corn and make your own. It is so easy! I used the "Brookview Hotel Cream-style Corn" recipe from here. My very picky daughter kept telling me how sweet and spicy it was; that it was delicious and my hubby went back for thirds!!! Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Disney Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States