Mexican Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I made some slight modifications. I cooked the chicken with the onions and garlic and then shredded it after it was cooked and added it back. I used chicken broth. I used a can of diced tomatoes with green chills. I used heavy cream. I added another can of regular corn. It was good, but I think it needed more flavor. Next time I will shred my own pepper jack cheese the pre-shredded doesn't have the same spicy flavor to me. I will also will add more onion. The dash of hot sauce is a must. Also, if you want the really chowder feel to it you have to let it cook much longer. When we went to clean up after dinner it was so much thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
This was pretty good. Had to tweak it like some of the other suggestions. Will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
A terrific chowder! I made this last night for my boyfriend after he came home from a cold, rainy golf day. It was a perfect cool weather chowder. I added diced potatoes to give it some more substance, a can of corn and also added carrots for color. I also cheated and pulled meat from a rotisserie chicken. I omitted the tomato since I don't love them. Overall a very hearty chowder and I would highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Very good stuff! But unfortunately on the fattening side. (And "fat free" half & half sounds like a bit of an oxymoron!) I do not like pieces of chilies or peppers so I cheat with the dry powdered stuff, but since the jar was sitting there I grabbed that when I went for the cumin and it was a bit hotter. But it was no big deal - I thought this was close to a spice level that I would like so I can just adjust next time and see how I like it. I also just tossed some tomato on top for garnish and never put it in the soup. I didn't add any potatoes or anything -- just TRY without them and see what you think. I do like the idea of using a crock pot and then shredding the chicken - cutting up raw chicken is not my favorite activity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
We've enjoyed this several times. Have cut back on the heat because of our child, but my husband just adds back in when he dishes it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This was awesome. My boyfriend loved it, took it to work where it got a 5 star rating. Definitely will make this for the family again. Made it a second time but substituted the chicken for crab meat. Turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I wish I could say that I followed this recipe, but more used it for inspiration for what I had on-hand and it turned out DIVINE (and I have to type it up so that I can refer to it later ;-) YUM. I didn't have half and half, only had regular canned corn, fresh green chiles and no tomatoes. First, I made a stock using 6 chicken thighs and a bit of salt. I just filled a pan 3/4 of the way with water, put the thighs in, doused in salt, and simmered for about an hour. I put the chicken on a cutting board to cool and poured the stock into a cup 'til I needed it. Then I browned the onion/garlic and put the chicken in when that was almost done. Poured two cups of stock over that, and the cumin. Simmered that for a few minutes, then poured one cup of milk (didn't have half and half, so more stock + some milk). Added everything else (regular corn and no bouillon or tomatoes, as I said before) and simmered for a while. Then I tossed in some cream cheese and used cheddar instead of montey jack, and melted the cheese. It tasted wonderful hot off the stove, but I think it was better after it got cold. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mission Beach, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I love this recipe except I made a couple changes. Because I live in the Caribbean and don't have access to a Dutch oven I used my crock pot. I sautéed the chicken, onion and garlic in a lot along with 3 finely diced potatoes. At the same time I boiled 2 cups water with a premixed packet of chicken stock ( could substitute with 2 cups chicken broth) cumin and chili powder in the crockpot. When it was boiling I added the sautéed mixture and stirred. After about 5 minutes on warm I added the rest of the ingredients. And wow! Everyone who ate it said it was amazing! And it was easy to keep warm. Served it with crackers. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Wonderful on a cold night! The changes I made were adding some sliced carrots, potatoes, a little extra garlic, and extra hot sauce. My husband was an instant fan - Will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Awesome!! I used home made cream corn that was left over from the night before. I have request for this one again and again since making it. This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States