Mexican Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I have been making this recipe for YEARS! Every time I make it , my family wants more. I have made it for friends too and they always comment on how yummy it is! A keeper for sure! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meadow Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYLYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This was a good base. First time I made recipe to exact. It was... underwhelming. Second time I modified it and it wasn't bad at all. I used 2/3 a can of rotel instead of the tomatoes and chilies. I omitted the hot sauce. I added some small diced potatoes and carrots along with some whole kernel corn. I added more cumin, some rosemary, and lime juice. Shredded the chicken and used stock instead of bullion. Made a roux to thicken it more and cut way back on the cream added. Even added some more fresh tomatoes that I needed to use up and served cheese on top vs in it. My husband loved it this time. Only thing I wish I had at that time were some flour tortillas I could have popped into the oven for a wonderful crunchy garnish! My daughter raved about the "broth" of the soup. I'm not saying the orig recipe was bad just that it doesn't deserve a 5 star in my book. After the changes it's going into my "It's cold and I want soup!" rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Very good base recipe worthy of 5 stars, and you can change up the spices and other ingredients to get the flavor you like. I added cayenne pepper and freshly ground black pepper because we like more heat. I also used salsa instead of fresh tomatoes to give it more flavor. I didn't have cream corn, so I used a bag of frozen corn and added a can of cream of potato soup. I'll use this recipe again and make changes based on what ingredients I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I'm giving this five stars because with a small adjustment, that's what it is. I just had to add some extra cumin, black pepper, and some chili powder. We loved this and will make it again. I made it in my slow cooker. I sauteed the onion and garlic in the butter, transferred it to the slow cooker, added two FROZEN chicken breasts, and everything else EXCEPT the half-and-half. I cooked on low for 7 hours and then removed the chicken to shred. I added the shredded chicken back into the slow cooker along with the half-and-half, adjusted the spices (added), and then cooked for about 20 minutes more. Topped with shredded pepper jack instead for added flavor. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
My husband loves this recipe and it takes a lot to get that review from him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I used fresh corn sliced off the cob (5 ears) instead of canned creamed corn. It was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Springs, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This was alright. While I liked this, I'm not sure I'd want to make this again. As is, this is a very "soupy" chowder. I like my chowder thick, but that's an easy fix and is by no means a deal breaker for me. What I didn't like about this was how mild this was. This could use quite a bit of spice, IMHO. In an attempt to remedy both the texture and up the flavor factor, I made a few changes. I added an additional can of (Mexi-blend) corn for added bulk and subbed a shredded rotisserie chicken in lieu of cubed chicken (personal preference). My biggest change was to omit the fresh tomato and canned chiles in favor of a small container of fresh pico de gallo. I absolutely LOOOVED the zip that the pico added, but even with this change, I just wasn't wowed. :( Plain and simple, this just needs too much tweaking to suit my tastes. Thanks anyways, Jeanne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
My family really enjoyed this soup. The flavors work really well together in the recipe. I made as written, but forgot to add the tomatoes before photographing the dish. This will be repeated in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Easy to make and delicious. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 443) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States