Mexican Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Using leftover roasted chicken and a quick homemade chicken stock, this chowder came together fast, fast, fast for a last-minute late-nite dinner. Knowing I had no half-n-half nor heavy cream (only skim milk), I added a dusting of flour to the sauteed onions and garlic before adding any liquid. Once the cheese and (frozen) corn were added, I had thick chowdery success. Much enjoyed with salsa and tortilla chips - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Delicious and easy to make. I added a little bit of frozen corn and frozen potato cubes to make the soup a bit more hearty. It had a little kick but was not overly spicy which I appreciated. I would make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
AWESOME! Great flavor. I didn't have Montery Jack cheese so I used co-jack. Try adding potatoes or hash browns and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
My husband and I loved, loved, loved this recipe! I used a rotisserie chicken (both breasts) and used 8oz chicken broth. I also added about 1 T tomato paste instead of the diced tomatos. His response, "You should open a soup restaurant staring this soup." ha! Try it! It's SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadkins77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I pretty much followed the recipe, just used turkey breast cutlets instead of chicken (because this is what I had). The whole family ate it - definitely will be making this again only will be doubling the recipe - we are a family of 7 and the guys would have liked to have seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cjwidemark4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Had this for supper tonight. Was very good. The only thing I did differently is to add a can of mexican style corn along with the creamed corn and I used about a cup of canned diced tomatoes instead of the fresh tomato. (because I have them leftover in the fridge) Was quick and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saranac Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Moira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This is a DELICIOUS soup! I've made it twice. The first time, I followed the recipe exactly, and it was great. The second time I fried about 6 slices of chopped bacon, then sauteed the onions and garlic in a bit of the bacon fat. I omitted the chicken, used one can of chicken broth in place of the water/bouillon, increased the cumin to 1 tsp, used 2 cans of creamed corn and used pepper jack cheese in place of monterey jack. I still added the cream, green chilis and also added a dash of crushed red pepper. This version was outstanding. Next time I will also add a bit of shrimp. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
OMG we had just been to a Mexican Rest. & my husband ordered this. I'm a soup maker so he requested I find it & I did. This was awsome. I made a pot of soup, like I do every week, & this one didn't make it past the first night. Loved it. Added a few more drops of hot sauce. KEEPER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
wonderful quick & easy......love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Really good the next day. Followed the recipe exactly. Needed something though. Added pepper and some spicy salt that I had at home. Also used Bothwell jalapeno jack cheese. think next time I will spice it up with a jalapeno sauted with the onions. Also didn't use chicken breast. Added rotisserie chicken after I melted the cheese. This recipe is very quick and super easy. YUM. Will make this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roblin, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States