Mexican Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Had this for supper tonight. Was very good. The only thing I did differently is to add a can of mexican style corn along with the creamed corn and I used about a cup of canned diced tomatoes instead of the fresh tomato. (because I have them leftover in the fridge) Was quick and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saranac Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Moira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This is a DELICIOUS soup! I've made it twice. The first time, I followed the recipe exactly, and it was great. The second time I fried about 6 slices of chopped bacon, then sauteed the onions and garlic in a bit of the bacon fat. I omitted the chicken, used one can of chicken broth in place of the water/bouillon, increased the cumin to 1 tsp, used 2 cans of creamed corn and used pepper jack cheese in place of monterey jack. I still added the cream, green chilis and also added a dash of crushed red pepper. This version was outstanding. Next time I will also add a bit of shrimp. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
OMG we had just been to a Mexican Rest. & my husband ordered this. I'm a soup maker so he requested I find it & I did. This was awsome. I made a pot of soup, like I do every week, & this one didn't make it past the first night. Loved it. Added a few more drops of hot sauce. KEEPER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
wonderful quick & easy......love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Really good the next day. Followed the recipe exactly. Needed something though. Added pepper and some spicy salt that I had at home. Also used Bothwell jalapeno jack cheese. think next time I will spice it up with a jalapeno sauted with the onions. Also didn't use chicken breast. Added rotisserie chicken after I melted the cheese. This recipe is very quick and super easy. YUM. Will make this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roblin, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
VERY good - a solid 4 stars. Made exactly as specified except that I added a few heart dashes of Adobo seasoning as everything stewed. Will definitely be added to the fall/winter soup rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aswright1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allen Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This was a great soup to make on a cold rainy day. I loved all the flavor and the thickness. I used tortilla chips to scoop it out...delicious. Even better a few days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
So. Good! Made it last night and have had it for lunch today :) Made it a tad differently - used chicken thighs, 2 cans of creamed corn, 1 can regular sweet corn, 1 tsp cumin... will definitely be making it from now on :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Love this recipe!!! I will add potatoes next time and lots more hot sauce. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
My husbands fav soup, really the only thing he ever asks me to make just for him!! TY for the recipe! The only thing I change is instead of cooking the chicken (which can get dry) I buy a pre-cooked rotisserie chicken and just add it in when I add the cheese. So juicy and fast. This is a great fast soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blytheville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 446) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States