Mexican Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Pretty good soup. Like some other reviewers stated, I used a rotisserie chicken, 2 cans cream corn, and rotel. I didn't put any hot sauce in because my husband hates hot, but now I'm kinda regretting it. Also like some other reviewers, it was missing a little something. I don't know if it was the hot sauce or some other spice, but it was lacking "bite." I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greendale, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I've never reviewed a recipe here before but this was so incredibly good I had to. The only changes I made were to add diced jalapeño, carrots, and diced potato and I used chicken broth instead of the bouillon and water. This so exceeded my expectations. I also made seasoned tortilla strips for garnish. Such a versatile recipe, I can't wait to try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Very good and very quick and easy!!! Our was ready in 40 minutes from start to finish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brady, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I've made this recipe a few times following the instructions exactly and everyone (including myself) that's eaten it absolutely LOVES it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IamHeather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I have made this chowder several times and my kids especially, love it. What I do to thicken it up, is add in some corn and flour tortillas. I usually cut up 4-5 smaller corn tortillas in strips and maybe 3-4 flour tortillas, depending upon if you get the big or small ones. I add in the corn tortillas about 15 minutes before the soup is done, and the flour tortillas about 5 minutes before it is done. A chef that I knew from Mexico told me about this trick, and it works fantastic for both adding flavor and a creamy consistency to your soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Ann Steeb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hingham, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very simple and tasty but I would advise to shred the chicken instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This was excellent! I made the recipe as is although it wasn't thick like a normal chowder. I added some wonder gravy to the mix at the very end and let it simmer a few minutes longer. That did the trick! So easy to make and so tasty! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was very good, as recommended by another user I added rotel and an extra can of corn and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This is wonderful!!!! I used a rotisseri chicken and instead of the tomato and green chilies I used a can of Rotel. I also added a chopped jalapeno to the onions. YUMMYYYYY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
My family loved this! I did customize a little based on other reviewers, Rotel instead of chopping up tomatoes and adding chilis separately, a few extra dashes of pepper sauce, chili powder and some red pepper flakes (we like it a bit spicier). Overall, my husband kept saying this is REALLY good and my eleven year old gave it two thumbs up! I can't wait to have the leftovers because of all the rave reviews for the day after. Thanks for the great recipe and ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States