Mexican Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
a little rich but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quinton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This was great! I didn't have cream, so I just used milk. It probably wasn't creamy like it should have been, but still great to me (and less fattening.) :) I also used a can of Rotel, a can of black beans, and a can of corn. And the cilantro is what makes the flavor, in my opinion. This is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
We loved this!! It was quite easy and absolutely delish. I used 3 chicken breasts, added some frozen corn, used a can of Rotel in place of the fresh tomato and chiles, and we added the hot sauce to our bowls so it wasn't too spicy for my daughter. It was also awesome with a squeeze of fresh lime. I think next time I'd even add some diced carrots. Definitely a new fave! Served with our favorite AR Guacamole recipe and lime tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RecipeAddict

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
EXCELLENT! THE ONLY CHANGE I MADE WAS USING HALF THE CHEESE. IT JUST LOOKED LIKE TOO MUCH. IT TURNED OUT TO BE A GOOD CHOICE. COULDN'T FIND JACK CHEESE SO I USED A BAG OF COLBY/JACK. IT'S A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNE
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This chowder was delicious. I did make a few changes because of what I had on hand. I used evaporated milk instead of the cream and used 1/2 of a 10 oz. can of diced tomatoes with green chiles instead of chopped tomatoes and can of green chiles. I am sure it is delicious as written also. I did take another reviewers suggestion of cooking the chicken in water first. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Good base recipe, but as is there's something lacking. I added 2 tsp. chili powder and an extra can of green chilies as well as a can of niblets and a cup of frozen corn. My kids actually liked this! They don't like much of anything...... Next time I will add diced carrots too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Voykin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Castlegar, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This is a great base recipe. I added 1/2 green, red, and orange peppers chopped, some quartered crimini mushrooms, chopped celery, and a couple heaping tablespoons of coriander paste (cilantro). Terrific flavor, nice heat and satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gadgetgal
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This chowder was fun to make and was the best comfort-food I have had in a long time! With ingredients I had on hand, a few substitutions were needed: I substituted evaporated milk for the 1/2 & 1/2; roast chicken in place of fresh and its drippings helped flavor the stock; I used a jalapeno pepper in place of hot pepper sauce. I especially liked the colorful toppings of chopped tomato and cilantro. Thanks for this recipe - it will become a standard in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gadgetgal

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Just ok. Alot of work for ok. Like my regular recipe which is tomato based.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Wowser, this is outstanding! I made a few minor changes but kept pretty much to the recipe. Did add some whole frozen corn in addition to the cream-style corn. Am thinking I'll add some jalapenos next time. I did add about 1/2 cup picante sauce. If a recipe calls for bouillon why not use Chicken Base instead? Much richer flavor. This is quite a dense calorie rich soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States