Mexican Ceviche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Excellent...I love this and will be making it again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I used jumbo shrimp and they took a lot longer than 30 minutes to turn opaque, so I definitely recommend rough chopping if you're using big shrimp. I added lime juice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Have fun with this! Add all the things you love - I used lots of radishes, and cucumbers, tequila. SUPER YUMMY! Everyone always steals the leftovers (if there are any!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Amazing! It was huge hit and loved by all! I did make a few changes. First off I recommend serving the next day. Also I only use 1 large onion. It can become overpowering if you use too much. Also only use 1.5 jalapenos especially since they get hotter over time. Overall, phenomenal dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I have chronc high blood pressure and am on a constant voyage to find recipes with very low sodium content -this is a great very healthful recipe. The citrus was a bit too - well citrusy, I think because I did not add enough tomato juice (sodium thing). My husband loved it. I served this in tortilla bowls made from whole grain tortillas baked with some olive oil over an upside down bowl. Oh - and toped with some avacados. Very fresh and healthy tasting - I have a feeling it will better tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinyscout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
It was 100 degrees out and I was looking for a dish that wouldn't require my turning any heating element on. I found this ceviche recipe and, having never attempted making this, I have to say I was a bit nervous about it. OMG! This was the BEST ceviche I have ever had, hands down! We did substitute mahi mahi for the whitefish but otherwise we followed the recipe as was directed. I could live on this stuff. Healthy, low calorie and flavorful...what's better? Thanks for the excellent recipe. I have it laminated on my fridge and anticipate making it often throughout the hot summer months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This is REALLY good, if you like Ceviche mexican style, youll love this recipe. i dont change anything, although it is a LOT better with shrimp than with anything else. my dad keeps asking for this like once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I've made this several times and here is what I've learned. This tastes better the next day. Make sure the onions you use aren't too large, otherwise the onion can overpower everything else. Don't skimp on the cilantro, it really adds flavor. I think less onion, and more cucumbers and radishes is a good idea. Also -- don't wimp out and use squeeze lemon juice. The real thing is so much better. Also, if you are going to make this a lot, invest $20 in one of those Vidalia Onion Chopper thingies. It cuts your prep time in half -- at least. Plus, the thing is just fun to use. Point it away from you when chopping tomatoes though, otherwise you will look like an axe murderer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pdizzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cole Camp, Missouri, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Took this to work, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna
Home Town: Mount Vernon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I've made this ceviche a couple of times & got many compliments. I made the original & it was good. But the next times, I ommited the radishes & added 2 limes & 1 avacado. We love avacado! lol. I also didn't use jumbo shrimp to make it more tortilla friendly. The way we eat ceviche is, I toast whole tortillas in some oil & then, after they've cooled, spread some mayo in the tortilla, top it with ceviche & munch away. It's great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usmcwf22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Ceviche

Delicious, refreshing Mexican seafood appetizer that’s bright with flavor.

Crab Ceviche

See how to make a simple ceviche with imitation crab meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States