Mexican Ceviche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I got so many complements. The best part it is so easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I knew this would be too spicy for me, but it was spot-on for Husband. I pretty much just eyeballed the ingredients, and I also added the juice of two small limes (you can't have ceviche without lime juice, imo). He thoroughly enjoyed it. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I cut the recipe down to 2 servings & I did decide to give my shrimp a rough chop. Like Caroline C. I added lime juice as well as lemon. I thickened it up a bit by giving it a squeeze of tomato paste & I added a tbp. or so of tequila. You couldn't really taste the tequila... it just tasted a bit richer & more complex. I served this in martini glasses rimmed w/ kosher salt (mostly for visual appeal) & lined w/ tortilla chips. Loved it...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
This was an amazing recipe that was a complete change to most prawn dishes. I served the marinaded prawns whole as a meal with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKLYSCOTTY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I've made this ceviche a couple of times & got many compliments. I made the original & it was good. But the next times, I ommited the radishes & added 2 limes & 1 avacado. We love avacado! lol. I also didn't use jumbo shrimp to make it more tortilla friendly. The way we eat ceviche is, I toast whole tortillas in some oil & then, after they've cooled, spread some mayo in the tortilla, top it with ceviche & munch away. It's great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usmcwf22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Took this to work, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna
Home Town: Mount Vernon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I've made this several times and here is what I've learned. This tastes better the next day. Make sure the onions you use aren't too large, otherwise the onion can overpower everything else. Don't skimp on the cilantro, it really adds flavor. I think less onion, and more cucumbers and radishes is a good idea. Also -- don't wimp out and use squeeze lemon juice. The real thing is so much better. Also, if you are going to make this a lot, invest $20 in one of those Vidalia Onion Chopper thingies. It cuts your prep time in half -- at least. Plus, the thing is just fun to use. Point it away from you when chopping tomatoes though, otherwise you will look like an axe murderer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pdizzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cole Camp, Missouri, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This is REALLY good, if you like Ceviche mexican style, youll love this recipe. i dont change anything, although it is a LOT better with shrimp than with anything else. my dad keeps asking for this like once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
It was 100 degrees out and I was looking for a dish that wouldn't require my turning any heating element on. I found this ceviche recipe and, having never attempted making this, I have to say I was a bit nervous about it. OMG! This was the BEST ceviche I have ever had, hands down! We did substitute mahi mahi for the whitefish but otherwise we followed the recipe as was directed. I could live on this stuff. Healthy, low calorie and flavorful...what's better? Thanks for the excellent recipe. I have it laminated on my fridge and anticipate making it often throughout the hot summer months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I have chronc high blood pressure and am on a constant voyage to find recipes with very low sodium content -this is a great very healthful recipe. The citrus was a bit too - well citrusy, I think because I did not add enough tomato juice (sodium thing). My husband loved it. I served this in tortilla bowls made from whole grain tortillas baked with some olive oil over an upside down bowl. Oh - and toped with some avacados. Very fresh and healthy tasting - I have a feeling it will better tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinyscout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Ceviche

Delicious, refreshing Mexican seafood appetizer that’s bright with flavor.

Crab Ceviche

See how to make a simple ceviche with imitation crab meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States