Mexican Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I was excited to try this recipe after seeing the positive reviews, but was very disappointed. There is entirely too much salt (I even cut back while I was making it). Maybe they meant "garlic powder" and not "garlic salt"?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I recently made this salsa for a Super Bowl party that got cancelled because of ice and snow. With a whole batch to deal with, and cognizant of my recent resolution to not waste food, I've been thinking of ways to eat it all up. The usual way, with chips is/was great. However, serving it on top of baked chicken or fish has become my new favorite thing. It really brings out new flavors in everything it touches. Night before last, I grilled a large portabello cap, placed a juicy piece of baked chicken on top and added maybe a quarter cup of salsa on top of that. It was fantastic! Not only was it tasty, filling and beautiful, it was well under 400 calories. While I loved it as written, I can imagine that adding corn and black beans would also be very good and extend the number of servings. Thanks, DEBOKC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This is an excellent salsa - I used champagne vinegar instead of tarragon and about 1/2 teas sugar as it was too sharp for my taste. I also added fresh cilantro just before serving, as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is an awesome recipe! Added a little more garlic. (love garlic) But kept everything the same otherwise. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinfwin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weare, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This is really, really good but am disappointed because thought by the title that it would include roe; nothing is a caviar unless it contains roe. I'll still use this recipe though and just call it Mexican Relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Awesome! I really love this salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKigloo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Made this to take for my lunch at work. I only had half a can of black olives and I used a can of diced tomatoes with chile peppers because I didn't have those ingredients seperate. I didn't have tarragon vinegar so I used red wine vinegar. Great snack to keep me going at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Tmish
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I love it...all I added was a few chopped sprigs of cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Davidsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
It needed some zest added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaimie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States