Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Mexican Casserole Haiku: "Well, it was easy! (Added layer taco meat, make it more a 'meal.'") The only thing that I did differently was to include, on top of the refried bean layer, a layer of ground beef that I'd browned w/ AR's Taco Seasoning I. Other than the tortilla on the top, the ones layered throughout turned to absolute smoosh; maybe that's the idea though? It was not very attractive to cut and serve, so we ended up w/ 4 sloppy "pie wedges". Maybe using Herdez salsa (the chunkier, more liquid-ey kind) instead of a smoother salsa made the entire casserole watery? Even w/ the taco meat layer (to appeal to my carniverous family who wanted to eat this as dinner on its own, topped w/ additional salsa, chopped lettuce and cilantro), we found this veering into bland territory. W/ several other recipes on AR also titled "Mexican Casserole", I went w/ this one b/c I conveniently had a package of exactly 5 tortillas in the fridge that needed to be eaten, so I'm glad that I made this, but unlikely that I'd prepare it again w/o significantly amping up the seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Easy and tasty. I used refried beans with jalapenos in them for kick, added fresh chopped cilantro and a ton more cheese, and baked mine in my cast iron frying pan, which crisped up the bottom tortilla nicely. I'll happily make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I used eggplant instead of refried beans, and shredded pork. I put taco sauce (flour and chili powder) over it. Got a thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This was really good, I added green chiles and instead of salsa used Ro-tel Mexican lime & chiles. Also added ground turkey meat with taco seasoning to the beans. I think I will crisp up the tortillas next time we have this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This turned out to be a disaster....too much refried beans. The texture, odour and appearance of the bean sauce left much to be desired. Perhaps with ground beef instead? GIGI
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I'm not much on eating vegetarian but this was absolutely delicious and quite satisfying. We had the leftovers as a breakfast side the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This was very good and easy. Used leftover taco beef for one layer and it turned out yummy. Family liked it and we had half of it the next night for dinner. It is very filling, this can feed 6 but there are only 3 of us. Will make this one again very soon, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Delicious, quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Loved the recipe. I did double to make it "family size" by putting the tortillas in a 9x12 casserole side by side. Instead of single layered. The double layering made it more like a "Mexican lasagna". Just take the recipe and kind of overlap the tortillas with all the same ingredients in layers and bake for at least 50 % longer! Yum. Awesome dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie X.
Living In: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Easy, cheap, filling and flavorful. Not exactly gourmet, but it gets the job done! Good for all ages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick and easy dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican f

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States