Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Very authentic! Mine was not so pretty, it seemed a little messy when I tried to get it out of the pan. Very tasty though! I added a little taco seasoning and a can of drained diced tomatoes to the bean mixture. Served with Mexican Rice II from this website!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I agree that if adding onions they need to be sauteed before placing in the mixture. I sprinkled some taco seasoning on top of the bean layer. I added black olives and the first time I used peach salsa..blech!! The next time I used homemade salsa because I love cilantro. It was really good. My diabetic Mom was thrilled to have this because she could eat a lot and not use as much insulin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This was pretty decent but certainly nothing exciting. I used about 1/4 Jack cheese and the rest cheddar. (I think Jack would be better but was running out.) I also used a cake pan instead of pie pan. (My tortillas were actually 9" so it fit perfectly.) Some sour cream on top would have been a nice addition but didn't have any. Apparently, unlike many, I don't always have the ingredients on hand. :) One person said there was too much refried bean, but I thought there was one too many tortillas because I had to spread everything very thin which was a bit of a pain. One good thing is that this heated up pretty well in a microwave for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I have been making a version of this casserole for years. I add to the layers whole kernal corn (drained/small can)...and sometimes black olives....and yes, lots of cheese...yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Yummy. Made this for dinner last night and just finished the leftovers for lunch! Served with yellow rice and it was deelish. I made my own refried beans (pinto beans, onion, garlic, chili powder, ground cumin, salt, and stock) and I added sour cream to each layer. Will be adding this to recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Awesome! My family loved it! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Awesome, easy recipe. Very versatile. We completely omitted the onions. You can change the salsa for rotel, add thinly sliced beef or chicken, extra whole black or pinto beans, etc. The possibilities make this recipe an easy dinner plan with little to no planning required. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BSIMRET
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This is a great easy recipe. I added 1/2 cup to the bean mixture. I used leftover homemade beans & shreded leftover chicken breast to each layers. My family loved it. Great recipe to use up leftovers w/ & to make ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Yum! My whole family loved this even the picky ones. I did add sour cream to each layer and followed other suggestions. I will be doing this one again. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
My mom an I made this for din-din tonight!! Yaayyy~ I recommend adding ground beef, if of course you're not a vegetarian. I followed everything else, doing my best to get the layering down [[???]]. What immediately got me was how it stayed in tact!! My lasagnas never do. That is a huge plus :D My mom said it was really good an had two helpings. My dad gave a less than enthusiastic 'I guess it's good'. Not sure if it's because he didn't care for it or because he thought my madre made it an so thought she was being over zealus about her cooking. Shmoo well.. I'll prolly make it again someday..It's sooo easy!! THANK YA THANK YAA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley_Rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States