Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Patty Dougherty Gebhardt
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Super easy. I added onions that I cooked with the chicken. I also put the entire packet of taco seasoning. Added sour cream and jalapeños as toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I haven't tried this recipe yet but it is making my mouth water just reading all the comments. One thing I have found that is GREAT in Mexican dishes is Hominy. It give the dish a little more texture and the corn taste of the hominy is perfect for Mexican dishes. (I always use it in chili) I think I will also use cilantro and lime juice. Making this next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Great! Here is what I did differently to make this even better: -Used 2 large chicken breasts seasoned with Carne Asada, baked at 350 for 25 min then shredded with a fork instead of cubing. -Sauteed onion and fresh garlic, then added chicken, whole package of HOT taco seasoning, whole jar of HOT good quality salsa, un-drained can of black beans, un-drained can of corn (no H20). Also added some fresh cilantro, hot sauce (Tapatio), can of green chills. I didn't add Jalapenos to this but I would try it! -Made a box of quick Spanish style rice and added the whole thing to the mixture. This makes the casserole less soupy and is AWESOME INSIDE. Highly recommend adding spicy rice. -Tore up flour tortillas, spread one layer at very bottom of Pyrex dish and one layer in the middle of the casserole, also added cheese to the middle of casserole (lasagna-style) - added cheese and crushed up tortilla chips to the top as recommended. Serve with sour cream. I made this for my fiance and some friends, received applause. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarolynRose33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
A little dry but served with sour cream was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This was pretty good. I would make it again but with some changes. As others suggested, I would not drain the corn. It needs the extra liquid. I would also add more salsa...only because my husband and I really love salsa lol. Lastly, I would boil the chicken until tender then shred it rather than cutting it into chunks and cooking it over oil. Thank you for the recipe :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I made this last night and we LOVED it! However, I followed the suggestions that DELE PETERSON made. My husband is a fireman as well and those guys can cook!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This is a very good recipe. We tried it as written and it was very good. It is also easy to adapt and add things you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Good fast dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
It was bland. Both hubby and I though so, and only 1 out of 3 kids ate it. That was even after I added sauteed onion and garlic. It needs something else...maybe a full package of taco mix? Overall, it was ok, but it needs some more spice for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashley.dawn235
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Followed the other comment advice and cooked the chicken with some onions and garlic, then added Chipotle sauce as well. I skipped the water and added the beans and corn without draining. Oh goodness was this delicious! Had some Mexican rice and salad on the side. Definitely a quick and delicious dinner and a new go-to quick fix meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 640) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States