Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
This recipe rocks, but that goodness I read all the reviews and got creative a bit. The best thing about this recipe is that you really don't have to measure anything, and that is the way I like to cook! I cooked it at the firehouse and my crew went crazy for it. Here are the things I changed. First, I grilled a whole onion and about a tablespoon of garlic in oil before putting the chicken in. I at least, if not more, doubled the salsa and also added several tablespoons of chipotle sauce for spiciness and flavour. I tore up corn tortillas and made one layer on top of the first half of chicken mixture, then piled the rest on top, all in a pyrex bowl (we had no 9x13 baking dishes at the station, but I baked it in the bowl and it turned out perfect). Also, next time I probably will not drain the beans and only some of the water off the corn. I served it with cornbread, a green salad and mexican rice. Soooo yummy. My favorite recipe to date!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
466 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELE PETERSON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
This was a great starter recipe, but like others, I felt it needed some doctoring. I followed advice and cooked up onions and garlic with the chicken, added more salsa and a can of green chilis, left the liquid in the beans and corn, and a cup of minute rice was mixed in right before I put it in the oven. I didn't have any chips, so I tore up a couple of tortillas, placed them over the casserole and added cheese to the top a few minutes before taking it out of the oven. They worked out great and came out nice and crispy. I also made the whole thing in a medium skillet (with metal handles) and put it right into the oven, making it a one-dish meal. Less cleaning is best in my book :) A great change from tacos, and was great at work for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
263 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
Living (born and bred) in New Mexico, our chili is either red or green and our beans are refried. Meals or salsa with black beans are considered on the gourmet end of our very basic love for spicy foods served traditionally with pinto beans and spanish rice. As a matter of fact, my husband won't even consider ordering ANYTHING made with black beans. Tonight I served him Sue's Mexican Casserole (he even watched as I added the beans) and not only did he have seconds, but he specifically asked me to make sure I make it again. If it's dry you're either not adding enough water, adding too many chips, or cooking it too long. Adios! from The Land of Enchantment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Ah we all loved this! I used some of the suggestions from others and chopped up 1/3 of an onion and sauteed it with the chicken in olive oil, used 3/4 cup of salsa, omitted the water and just didn't drain the beans or corn, used a 15 oz can of corn, added a cup of minute rice right before putting it in the stove, and used about 2 cups of cheese! Was incredibly easy and very fast; I'm sure this will be a family staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BTHNYBEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moselle, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Petal, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Very quick all-in-one meal. Everyone had seconds and commented it was yummy. I added fresh cilantro & 4oz of cream cheese to the meat mixture and served it with extra salsa & sour cream. A++ recipe for taste and for how easy it is to prepare. Because of the rave reviews (unprompted) by my kids (7yrs & 5yrs) I'll be making this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
I doubled this recipe and put half each into a square baking pan. I do think the recipe would be too thin in a 9X13 pan. One of the pans I took to a potluck. I didn't put the additional cheese on top and it was still very good. I shredded the chicken rather than keeping the breasts whole. I'd suggest using a better quality salsa for additional punch. I used Trader Joe's Taquera Salsa and it sure added a wonderful tasting dimension to this casserole. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUSHPUPPY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
I used ground beef once and it was terrific. I also used the liquid from the beans and the corn in place of the water called for. Added extra flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
SO EASY TO MAKE AND EVERYONE REALLY LIKED IT!! I DID LEAVE OUT THE SALSA AND ADD PICANTE SAUCE-HOT. I ALSO USED THE ONIONS AND GARLIC WHEN COOKING THE CHICKEN. I LEFT OUT THE CHIPS. SERVED IT WITH SOUR CREAM, CHIPS, CHOPPED TOMATOES AND EXTRA PICANTE SAUCE. WILL BE MAKING THIS AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2003
This was so easy and great too! My husband loved it and even my 19 month old cleaned her plate. I didn't follow the recipe to the letter though, I used 1 lb of chicken, a whole envelope of seasoning, a slightly larger can of corn, and enough salsa to coat the other ingredients (I didn't measure it). I probably added about 1/4 c of water for simmering. My husband said I should make this more often. I'm not crazy about Mexican style food, but it wasn't too spicy (use spicy salsa if you like the heat). A hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
I thought this was really good, and was amazed that my picky pre-schoolers liked it too. I added a small can of mild green chilies, and also added the remainder of the taco seasoning to the water I used to cook rice as a side dish. In the future I will use a smaller pan than specified since it dried out a bit and was more like a dip in a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 626) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States