Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I make this with veggie crumbles instead of animals and my husband and I devour it within 24 hours. It's become a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This dish tasted great and I will definitely make it again! Instead of the water I just added extra salsa and no complaints here - the ingredients worked well together and was like a healthier version of a taco. It was a good change in our household from the taco dinners I normally make occasionally using ground beef! It was also very quick and easy to prepare and so little clean up after the meal! We served this with sour cream and next time I am going to add some green/red peppers during the cooking to add a few more veggies and maybe top with some shredded lettuce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tannis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
We didn't love this. The chicken to vegetable ratio seems way off to me, I probably would add two more cans of beans and twice the corn. Bell peppers too. Also seems like the oven baking is unnecessary, cheese can melt on the stove. Anyways, we didn't like this more than chicken tacos or burritos and it was the same amount of effort. Would not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Harper
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I used chicken thighs and Rotel instead of salsa. I have to agree that it needs spicing up a little. Maybe a little cayenne next time. But my husband does not like spicy food and he LOVED it. He liked the crunch of the chips. I will make this again because he liked it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
So good and easy! Took other suggestions and did not drain the corn or beans, also doubled the amount of salsa. I put a layer of chips on the bottom, then chicken mixture, then a small layer of chips on top covered by the cheese. I think next time I will put in some chopped Jalapeno into the chicken mixture to try and give it a little more kick. I usually put a whole packet of taco seasoning in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
HELPFUL TIPS: taking the lead from others, definitely omit water. Use the juice from both beans and corn (hey, makes it easier to not have to drain too)! I make the mixture ahead of time and when ready to bake, then add the crushed chips. I actually added a layer of chips in the middle. OTHER TIMES, I omit the chips and just add 1 - 1.5 CUP of any cooked rice (i used a seasoned flavored uncle ben's box) ...we felt this really tasted better scooped in a flour tortilla and topped with your favorite toppings (lettuce, tomotoes, sour cream and salsa). Either way we make it, definitely add 3/4C salsa. No, ours wasn't hot at all and we had a 1, 3, 5, and 7 yr old who approved. It just adds a little hint of tomatoes and texture that made it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. There is nothing to really hold this all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
For anyone who wants tips on how to make this less bland without changing it up too much, I would suggest adding taco sauce instead of water, don't drain the black beans I think the juice adds a lot of flavor and maked sure your salsa is not mild, get it as hot as you can handle. That's how I make it. Quick, simple and scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Whole family loved this recipe and ate it in different ways. Okay, I used Hot Taco Mix (family preference), cooked diced onion with the chicken in skillet, used frozen corn instead of canned, and added extra 1/2 cup of salsa (then didn't add water). Unfortunately, I didn't have any cheese on hand so I made it without but it was still sooooo good! I ate mine with scoops chips, my daughter put hers on a salad, and my son ate his in a taco shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 650) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States