Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
HELPFUL TIPS: taking the lead from others, definitely omit water. Use the juice from both beans and corn (hey, makes it easier to not have to drain too)! I make the mixture ahead of time and when ready to bake, then add the crushed chips. I actually added a layer of chips in the middle. OTHER TIMES, I omit the chips and just add 1 - 1.5 CUP of any cooked rice (i used a seasoned flavored uncle ben's box) ...we felt this really tasted better scooped in a flour tortilla and topped with your favorite toppings (lettuce, tomotoes, sour cream and salsa). Either way we make it, definitely add 3/4C salsa. No, ours wasn't hot at all and we had a 1, 3, 5, and 7 yr old who approved. It just adds a little hint of tomatoes and texture that made it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. There is nothing to really hold this all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
For anyone who wants tips on how to make this less bland without changing it up too much, I would suggest adding taco sauce instead of water, don't drain the black beans I think the juice adds a lot of flavor and maked sure your salsa is not mild, get it as hot as you can handle. That's how I make it. Quick, simple and scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Whole family loved this recipe and ate it in different ways. Okay, I used Hot Taco Mix (family preference), cooked diced onion with the chicken in skillet, used frozen corn instead of canned, and added extra 1/2 cup of salsa (then didn't add water). Unfortunately, I didn't have any cheese on hand so I made it without but it was still sooooo good! I ate mine with scoops chips, my daughter put hers on a salad, and my son ate his in a taco shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Easy and yummy...added a chopped onion and some garlic. did not drain the beans. did not put any chips on it cause I wanted to dip them after. doubled the salsa. so good! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This meal was ok, but nothing amazing. It just tasted a little bland and very heavy in my stomach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
easy, modifiable and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I used hamburger meat and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Simple, quick and absolutely wonderful! I doubled the recipe first time out (I suspected it wouldn't go far enough with our five adult household)...no leftovers! Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 636) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States