Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Ok. Needs some adjusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Instead of using rice and salsa, I like to make spanish rice for my casseroles. Also, good to add avocado and salsa after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bekbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
My 5 year old said, "Mom, this is stinkin' awesome!" which is actually a compliment - ha! The first night he really complained about eating it but he had to if he wanted any dessert and then he realized he loved it! I used a can of black beans and a can of kidney beans, an entire jar of mild salsa, frozen corn, chopped up some tomato I had on hand, used sharp cheddar (what I had), and we served this with sour cream. Also used dark meat from 3 or 4 boneless skinless chicken thighs I had cooked up (cheaper) and that worked great. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
My whole family LOVED IT!!!!! I switched it up a bit as well. I added coconut milk instead of water and tomato sauce instead of salsa because I can't have the green peppers in salsa. My son put hot sauce on it as he does with everything and it was yummy!! We love garlic so I might try that next time. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
As with everyone else, I added a few different touches. I had some cubed chicken and some shredded--I think using all shredded would have been better. I put some saute'd onions and garlic in with the chicken mixture, and used 2 medium sized cans of Mexi-corn instead of regular corn. Used about 3/4 of a cup of salsa, and also threw in a small can of diced chilis. As I love a creamy-goopy casserole, I put in a can of Nacho Cheese soup, plus maybe a third of a cup of water to thin it out just a bit. Followed the directions for the topping, and it turned out great--just the right consistency and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cassville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This recipe was quick and easy to make and the whole family liked it. I added a small can of diced green chiles and omitted the tortilla chips since I ate it on a tostada shell. I also served it with guacamole and sour cream. Will definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Added about 1/2 cup each diced red onion, diced red pepper and a couple of grated cloves of garlic to some hot oil before adding the chicken. Also added 2 cups of water and a cup of basmati rice to give it a big more volume (and because my husband wanted rice). Also used cool ranch doritos, which added some additional flavor. Baked it in the oven-proof skillet that I cooked the chicken in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Assumption, Illinois, USA
Living In: Heyworth, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Very simple to prepare and it was a big hit with the family. I followed the recipe exactly and have no complaints regarding the flavor. This recipe is a keeper and will be a regular on our dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenys V. Aitken

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Easy dinner to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I don't understand the people who thought this was bland. We thought it had plenty of flavor, and I used reduced sodium taco seasoning and beans. It was super easy to make. I'll definitely be making this again. It's a great way to use up all those broken chips at the bottom of the bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Addison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 651) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States