Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Good and easy! I didn't have chips so I put in a cup of rice . I also used homemade taco seasoning, and a bit more salsa. Served with sour cream (or yogurt) and avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Claire Lottridge
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
My mom and I had a lot of fun with this one. Nothing like cooking our Sunday night "comfort food" and watching premium cable! We steeped New Mexico dried chili peppers in chicken broth and used that same broth to cook our rice in. The rice was a beautiful brown color when finished (I have always struggled getting spanish rice to turn that color.) We just mixed pinto beans (substitute for back beans, pintos are milder than black beans for some relief) to the rice. The chicken we cooked separately from the onions and garlic then added corn and diced tomatoes to the mix. Used the rice and chicken mix as our layers and also included layers of Sargento mexican cheeses, provolone (for stringiness) and corn tortillas smeared with cream cheese. Topped with cheeses and VOILA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Awesome! Can be prepared ahead of time, minus the toppings. Simple and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earthchickie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
My family really liked this! I used 2 lbs. boneless chicken thighs instead & a 15 oz. can of corn. I baked it in a 9 by 9 casserole dish. When I took it out to add more cheese, I first spread another 1/4 cup salsa. There were no left overs and I served 3 people!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Would add more salsa. Also doubled the cheese for topping. Easy and chicken tenders were very moist. Added some taco seasoning while browning chicken for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
My kids devour this. I read the reviews and added a can of petite diced tomatoes with chiles as well as an entire jar of salsa, but I also used 1 1/2 lbs of chicken. It was incredible. Easy, quick and yummy. What more can you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This is a great base recipe. I used pre-cooked dark meat chicken and kidney beans as a substitute and it turned out fine. It does taste good with sour cream and chives topped on, too. I also do not drain the cans of beans and corn-- more flavor. In short, this is a recipe anyone can work with and add to his/her tastes. It is also not time consuming. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Quick, easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I agree that the cubed chicken didn't work in this. I think the chicken would be better shredded. I added more salsa as suggested and a cup of instant brown rice. I think a can of rotel tomatoes would be a good addition. I'd like to try this as a dip by leaving out the chicken and using tortilla chips as dippers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Ok. Needs some adjusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 631) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States