Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I made this last night and we LOVED it! However, I followed the suggestions that DELE PETERSON made. My husband is a fireman as well and those guys can cook!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This is a very good recipe. We tried it as written and it was very good. It is also easy to adapt and add things you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Good fast dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
It was bland. Both hubby and I though so, and only 1 out of 3 kids ate it. That was even after I added sauteed onion and garlic. It needs something else...maybe a full package of taco mix? Overall, it was ok, but it needs some more spice for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley Hutton
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Followed the other comment advice and cooked the chicken with some onions and garlic, then added Chipotle sauce as well. I skipped the water and added the beans and corn without draining. Oh goodness was this delicious! Had some Mexican rice and salad on the side. Definitely a quick and delicious dinner and a new go-to quick fix meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Hutton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
All my family (4 men & myself) really like this recipe. It's an easy go to recipe for when you've had a busy day. Nice with a dollop of sour cream on top. I doubled the salsa. I've taken this to 2 friends recovering from surgery & they both asked for the recipe. To make things easier, I always buy club size packages of chicken breast, steam in my rice cooker, cut up & freeze in meal-size ziplock bags in advance. I save the broken chips from the bottom of the tortilla bag for recipes that call for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This dish is very tasty and I don't think you can go wrong with it. I did use a little more chicken than the recipe asked for for a more heavier meal, but even that wasn't overwhelming. I wasn't sure how much water to add to prevent drying out the dish and I thought I had added too much. However, after it finished baking in the oven, some of the moisture evaporated and it was just right. I really liked the crunchy tortilla-cheese topping. The other different thing I did was add a whole 15 oz can of corn instead of half like other reviewers did. The corn was not overwhelming. Just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I took out the cheese & chips ( I know I took out the best part). I added more salsa, more chicken, and quinoa! I just cooked up 1/2 cup of it and added it with all the other ingredients. Very tasty!!! Also, I made my own taco seasoning because I didn't want to go to the store and I have control of the amount of salt. Made for great left overs and I felt good about what was in it! Also!! If you have any non fat Greek yogurt it makes as an amazing substitute for sour cream. If you don't believe me just try and you will see that you literally can't tell the difference! :) hope this helps :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Delicious! Didn't change anything about the recipe and it turned out great! The leftovers were even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Not bad. I modified it by putting it in the slow cooker and using nacho cheese sauce for the cheese--just topped at serving with cheddar as well. This worked out well in the slow cooker, but does turn out soupy. Not surprising--I was expecting that--but not something I want to do when I really have my heart set on a casserole dish. In that case, I'd just do as directed. However, I had a bunch of frozen items (beans, chicken) when I went to make this dish and didn't have the time to defrost and bake, so I just dumped it all in the slow cooker, turned it on high for about 4-6 hours, and voila! Dinner! I did make rice to serve it over. Turned out delicious, and I'm glad I tried it that way--this makes it so easy and great meal for a busy day. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 645) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States