Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Delicious! Didn't change anything about the recipe and it turned out great! The leftovers were even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Not bad. I modified it by putting it in the slow cooker and using nacho cheese sauce for the cheese--just topped at serving with cheddar as well. This worked out well in the slow cooker, but does turn out soupy. Not surprising--I was expecting that--but not something I want to do when I really have my heart set on a casserole dish. In that case, I'd just do as directed. However, I had a bunch of frozen items (beans, chicken) when I went to make this dish and didn't have the time to defrost and bake, so I just dumped it all in the slow cooker, turned it on high for about 4-6 hours, and voila! Dinner! I did make rice to serve it over. Turned out delicious, and I'm glad I tried it that way--this makes it so easy and great meal for a busy day. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
So good!!!,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Port Murray, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Made this into a vegetarian dish. Used one can of retried beans rather than chicken. Followed others' suggestions...one sautéed onion + 4 cloves of garlic, one cup of rice, 3/4 bottle of salsa. Also I used a homemade recipe for taco seasoning found on allrecipes, cut down on the sodium. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Wow, we loved it. Easy to make ahead. Doubled the salsa. Added small can of green chilis for more spice. Added a layer of low-carb flour tortillas on top of mixture. Then put cheese on top of the tortilla. The tortilla kept the cheese in a compact layer. Delicious. Great low- carb, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I subbed 1.3 lbs of ground turkey for chicken. I don't like taco seasoning, so I just eyeballed amounts of cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, cayenne pepper, salt, pepper. I followed everything else the same. Good weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Good and easy! I didn't have chips so I put in a cup of rice . I also used homemade taco seasoning, and a bit more salsa. Served with sour cream (or yogurt) and avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Claire Lottridge
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
My mom and I had a lot of fun with this one. Nothing like cooking our Sunday night "comfort food" and watching premium cable! We steeped New Mexico dried chili peppers in chicken broth and used that same broth to cook our rice in. The rice was a beautiful brown color when finished (I have always struggled getting spanish rice to turn that color.) We just mixed pinto beans (substitute for back beans, pintos are milder than black beans for some relief) to the rice. The chicken we cooked separately from the onions and garlic then added corn and diced tomatoes to the mix. Used the rice and chicken mix as our layers and also included layers of Sargento mexican cheeses, provolone (for stringiness) and corn tortillas smeared with cream cheese. Topped with cheeses and VOILA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Awesome! Can be prepared ahead of time, minus the toppings. Simple and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earthchickie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
My family really liked this! I used 2 lbs. boneless chicken thighs instead & a 15 oz. can of corn. I baked it in a 9 by 9 casserole dish. When I took it out to add more cheese, I first spread another 1/4 cup salsa. There were no left overs and I served 3 people!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 637) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States