Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I cooked onion and bell pepper with the chicken, but other than that followed the directions. I would give it five stars, but it was just good, not great. Will make again, possibly with leftover shredded pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is a phenomenal recipe. Like others, I modified it to make it gluten free and to suit our tastes. I used Cumin and Corriander along with a Spicy Chicken spice instead of the Taco Seasoning. Like Dele, I sauteed a large sweet Maya onion and three large cloves of garlic (chopped) in my garlic infused olive oil. Then I added half a poblano chile, cut in strips to the onion and garlic mix, cooking until they were soft. I removed the onion and chile mix and sauteed the chicken cubes in more olive oil, adding the spices to the chicken (I also added half a chipotle chile (canned in adobo sauce) to the chicken. When the chicken was browned, I added a large can of black beans, frozen corn and frozen peas, and 1/3 bottle of medium Herdez Salsa Casera. I simmered these for 10 minutes while I browned 4 corn tortillas on a griddle. Then I layered the chicken mixture and tortillas, topping with tortillas and Fud brand queso cotija. I haven't baked it in the oven yet, but the taste is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
easy and fantastic. makes a great lunch leftover. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Preston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Fabulous recipe. I dislike beans and ate everyone from my plate. Only changes I made was I added a jar of salsa, didn't drain the corn and didn't need to add any water. I also added extra cheese. It was a great dinner. Hubby and I had seconds despite forgetting to buy sour cream. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Lots of easy changes made this great: saute 1 onion, 1 clove of garlic, 1/2 green pepper before adding chicken. Add green chiles and extra salsa. I took some others advice by omitting water but leaving juice of beans and corn in-too much liquid, so next time I'll drain the corn. Top with sour cream and guacamole. Served with green salad, refried beans, and corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
excellent. Next time I might make a few changes. Perhaps shred the chicken and add more salsa. But overall it was GREAT!. We love it. Keeping it as a staple on our family menu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
The flavors of this are great. I did add the taco seasoning to the chicken first as others recommended. I added torn pieces of corn tortilla to the bottom of the pan and then again on top of the chicken mixture before I topped it with cheese and chips. This made a wonderful crunchy crust. I also choose a smaller pan as others mentioned. I will make this again especially since it is so easy and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This is a great go to recipe. I added 1 1/2 cups of cooked rice with extra salsa, which makes this a complete meal. Thanks, have made several times. Scores high with my teenage sons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtadian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This could be a decent base for a main course. I'm never a fan of not seasoning the meat, so I had to cook the chicken with the taco seasoning before adding in the rest. It could also use some additions to give it more character. But the thing that frustrated me the most is that a 9x13 pan is way too big for this. I could barely smear it around and cover the bottom. Ended up transferring to a 7x11 pan. Even there it was only about an inch in depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This was the best recipe I have made from this site. Very delicious. My family loved it! Thank you for the recipe idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girtaxticgrl
Home Town: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 645) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States