Mexican Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Used a gluten-free mix and added the spices to it. For the water needed in the mix, I used strong coffee. I repeated the coffee flavor by icing them with a mocha frosting also from this website. These were excellent and a big hit at our Hispanic themed dinner; kids and adults loved them equally. Thank you caroliney_ for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I thought they were delicious just plain but especially good with ice cream on top. I had to make them closer to 35-40 minutes though. They were not nearly done at 20-25 as the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LuxLA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Unimaginably delicious. I used baking soda (didn't have powder) and regular cinnamon and regular, ground red pepper. The spice is THE PERFECT balance of light enough but pronounced enough to make these taste like the most unique brownie. I added semi-sweet chocolate chips, as well! Easily, my favorite brownie of all time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuxLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Excellent recipe with a bite to the sweet taste. I used cayenne pepper because that's all I had and it was delightful. Makes a huge amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I couldn't find the pequin chili powder, so I used something called Mexican Hot Chili powder by McCormick. I used a lot more than the recipe called for (double at least- then kept shaking it in until I could actually taste a little kick) and more Cinnamon too. I baked it in a mini cupcake pan and topped it with chocolate frosting- I added the chili powder and cinnamon to my regular dark chocolate frosting recipe and squirted a dab on each. BIG HIT at the party I took them to! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
These brownies were great, I cut the recipe in half & used an 8x8 pan, they took about 40 minutes to bake. Next time I make them I will use a better brand of cocoa powder & a little bit more chili pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Great stuff!! The cayenne pepper was just fine. I used a smaller pan, and had to lengthen the cooking time quite a bit. I definitely will hunt for the right size next time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Just what I was looking for! I reduced the sugar by about 1/4 cup and used regular cinnamon and cayenne pepper because that's what I had on hand. Also, only had 3/4 cup baking chocolate so I added 3/4 cup dark chocolate chips. A perfect end to a cinco de mayo party! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Collaroy, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
WOW, these were good brownies! I made some with and some without cayenne pepper, and I must say that while I was surprised to find that I did like the ones with pepper (they weren't too spicy or anything), I preferred them without. But regardless - the texture is phenomenal! I love a dense fudgy brownie, and these totally are. Moist, rich, and soooo good. I lightened the recipe a bit to suit my own dietary needs by substituting applesauce for half the butter and using part Splenda for some of the sugar, and it still turned out beautifully. I've only ever made brownies from a box mix before; I had no idea what I was missing! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Easy to make and I like that I could use ingredients that are commonly found in the kitchen. (We used regular cinnamon and chilli pepper since we didn't want to run to the grocery store) Awesome recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States