Mexican Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SB
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
These were very moist and good. I loved the flavors of the cinnamon and pepper in this. I didnt have ground pequin powder so I used ground chile de arbol pepper and just a pinch of ground habanero pepper and it worked great. Even my almost 2 year old daughter liked the bowl. The spice is just right in them. Thanks for sharing this unique brownie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Used a gluten-free mix and added the spices to it. For the water needed in the mix, I used strong coffee. I repeated the coffee flavor by icing them with a mocha frosting also from this website. These were excellent and a big hit at our Hispanic themed dinner; kids and adults loved them equally. Thank you caroliney_ for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
my boyfriend and daughter loved these (I did too, but my opinion doesn't count in our house). I added a little more cayenne pepper to it and scaled down the recipe to make a batch of 20 instead of 30. Delicious! very reminiscent of my childhood on the border
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LianF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LuxLA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Unimaginably delicious. I used baking soda (didn't have powder) and regular cinnamon and regular, ground red pepper. The spice is THE PERFECT balance of light enough but pronounced enough to make these taste like the most unique brownie. I added semi-sweet chocolate chips, as well! Easily, my favorite brownie of all time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuxLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I didn't have the mexican cinnamon so used my Penzey's cinnamon. Also used cayenne pepper, it was all I had. These surprised me as we made them for my son's Spanish class. I made them in mini muffin pans and rolled in powdered sugar. I really enjoyed the flavor, a little salty, sweet, and the cinnamon added a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
These brownies were great, I cut the recipe in half & used an 8x8 pan, they took about 40 minutes to bake. Next time I make them I will use a better brand of cocoa powder & a little bit more chili pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I couldn't find the pequin chili powder, so I used something called Mexican Hot Chili powder by McCormick. I used a lot more than the recipe called for (double at least- then kept shaking it in until I could actually taste a little kick) and more Cinnamon too. I baked it in a mini cupcake pan and topped it with chocolate frosting- I added the chili powder and cinnamon to my regular dark chocolate frosting recipe and squirted a dab on each. BIG HIT at the party I took them to! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
They were O.K I've had much better brownies before. They just didn't taste like the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I thought they were delicious just plain but especially good with ice cream on top. I had to make them closer to 35-40 minutes though. They were not nearly done at 20-25 as the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Excellent recipe with a bite to the sweet taste. I used cayenne pepper because that's all I had and it was delightful. Makes a huge amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States