Mexican Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I've made this recipe a few times now and they have been a huge hit! The spices really bring out the chocolate flavor. Cinnamon and Cayenne pepper works well if you don't have fancy spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I may never make 'regular' brownies again! These had a great flavor with a hint of something different. Like many other reviewers I didn't have the Mexican cinnamon or the chile pepper that it called for. They were still good with regular cinnamon and I substituted chipotle chile pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Pretty yummy. I scaled it down to 10 servings, baked it in a 9x9 pan, and subs. cayanne pepper as suggested. It taste really rich and yummy. I think I also cooked it for 35 min and it's still really moist and gewwy in the inside a day later. Lastly, after I poured the batter, I dropped chocolate chips along the top for garish..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starcookies22
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Easy to make and I like that I could use ingredients that are commonly found in the kitchen. (We used regular cinnamon and chilli pepper since we didn't want to run to the grocery store) Awesome recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Great stuff!! The cayenne pepper was just fine. I used a smaller pan, and had to lengthen the cooking time quite a bit. I definitely will hunt for the right size next time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
WOW, these were good brownies! I made some with and some without cayenne pepper, and I must say that while I was surprised to find that I did like the ones with pepper (they weren't too spicy or anything), I preferred them without. But regardless - the texture is phenomenal! I love a dense fudgy brownie, and these totally are. Moist, rich, and soooo good. I lightened the recipe a bit to suit my own dietary needs by substituting applesauce for half the butter and using part Splenda for some of the sugar, and it still turned out beautifully. I've only ever made brownies from a box mix before; I had no idea what I was missing! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Just what I was looking for! I reduced the sugar by about 1/4 cup and used regular cinnamon and cayenne pepper because that's what I had on hand. Also, only had 3/4 cup baking chocolate so I added 3/4 cup dark chocolate chips. A perfect end to a cinco de mayo party! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Collaroy, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I totally cheated when I made the Mexican Brownies. I used Ghirardelli dark chocolate fudge mix and added the cinnamon and some ground chipotle chile powder to the mix. Delicious and SO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I didn't have the mexican cinnamon so used my Penzey's cinnamon. Also used cayenne pepper, it was all I had. These surprised me as we made them for my son's Spanish class. I made them in mini muffin pans and rolled in powdered sugar. I really enjoyed the flavor, a little salty, sweet, and the cinnamon added a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I couldn't find the pequin chili powder, so I used something called Mexican Hot Chili powder by McCormick. I used a lot more than the recipe called for (double at least- then kept shaking it in until I could actually taste a little kick) and more Cinnamon too. I baked it in a mini cupcake pan and topped it with chocolate frosting- I added the chili powder and cinnamon to my regular dark chocolate frosting recipe and squirted a dab on each. BIG HIT at the party I took them to! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States