Mexican Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
We loved these, the perfect brownie texture for us! I used ancho chili powder because that is all I had, and it came out tasting great! I'm taking an enchilada dinner to a friend who is recovering from surgery and will be bringing these for dessert. I just know her family will love these brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Very moist and cake-like brownies. I used regular cinnamon and cayenne pepper, and I would probably reduce the cayenne a little bit next time as it came through a little too strongly. And it wasn't sweet enough for me, so I topped it with the Chocolate Glaze I from this site and chopped walnuts. My coworkers seemed to enjoy them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I made these as written for my international club dinner. I got rave reviews, and the people commenting didn't realize the baker was standing there listening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cudahy, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I've made this recipe a few times now and they have been a huge hit! The spices really bring out the chocolate flavor. Cinnamon and Cayenne pepper works well if you don't have fancy spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I may never make 'regular' brownies again! These had a great flavor with a hint of something different. Like many other reviewers I didn't have the Mexican cinnamon or the chile pepper that it called for. They were still good with regular cinnamon and I substituted chipotle chile pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Pretty yummy. I scaled it down to 10 servings, baked it in a 9x9 pan, and subs. cayanne pepper as suggested. It taste really rich and yummy. I think I also cooked it for 35 min and it's still really moist and gewwy in the inside a day later. Lastly, after I poured the batter, I dropped chocolate chips along the top for garish..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starcookies22
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Easy to make and I like that I could use ingredients that are commonly found in the kitchen. (We used regular cinnamon and chilli pepper since we didn't want to run to the grocery store) Awesome recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Great stuff!! The cayenne pepper was just fine. I used a smaller pan, and had to lengthen the cooking time quite a bit. I definitely will hunt for the right size next time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
WOW, these were good brownies! I made some with and some without cayenne pepper, and I must say that while I was surprised to find that I did like the ones with pepper (they weren't too spicy or anything), I preferred them without. But regardless - the texture is phenomenal! I love a dense fudgy brownie, and these totally are. Moist, rich, and soooo good. I lightened the recipe a bit to suit my own dietary needs by substituting applesauce for half the butter and using part Splenda for some of the sugar, and it still turned out beautifully. I've only ever made brownies from a box mix before; I had no idea what I was missing! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Just what I was looking for! I reduced the sugar by about 1/4 cup and used regular cinnamon and cayenne pepper because that's what I had on hand. Also, only had 3/4 cup baking chocolate so I added 3/4 cup dark chocolate chips. A perfect end to a cinco de mayo party! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Collaroy, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States