Mexican Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
SOOOOOOO Good! I love chili and chocolate, and this was a great combo. The perfect balance, and I loved that the brownies were not too dense, I prefer a lighter brownie. I just used normal cayenne pepper and cinnamon and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I made this recipe for my daughter's birthday and it was very good. I didn't have butter in the house when I made this, so I used vegetable oil. I thought they would be too oily, but they weren't. They were good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
i think i added too much paprika, because they are superspicy, believe me i'm a real mexican
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
These were awesome!! I have so many chile pequins I don't know what to do with them all. The majority of the company that I had over when I made these were hispanic. They didn't get the 'mexican' brownie thing, but for me (a transplant from up north) the addition of cinnamon and chiles made them totally mexican. Yum! I just used plain cinnamon since I'm not a food connoisseur, I couldn't tell the difference. Next time I would probably double the chiles though. Either way, this is my favorite brownie recipe ever! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
We loved these, the perfect brownie texture for us! I used ancho chili powder because that is all I had, and it came out tasting great! I'm taking an enchilada dinner to a friend who is recovering from surgery and will be bringing these for dessert. I just know her family will love these brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Very moist and cake-like brownies. I used regular cinnamon and cayenne pepper, and I would probably reduce the cayenne a little bit next time as it came through a little too strongly. And it wasn't sweet enough for me, so I topped it with the Chocolate Glaze I from this site and chopped walnuts. My coworkers seemed to enjoy them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I made these as written for my international club dinner. I got rave reviews, and the people commenting didn't realize the baker was standing there listening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cudahy, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I've made this recipe a few times now and they have been a huge hit! The spices really bring out the chocolate flavor. Cinnamon and Cayenne pepper works well if you don't have fancy spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I may never make 'regular' brownies again! These had a great flavor with a hint of something different. Like many other reviewers I didn't have the Mexican cinnamon or the chile pepper that it called for. They were still good with regular cinnamon and I substituted chipotle chile pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Pretty yummy. I scaled it down to 10 servings, baked it in a 9x9 pan, and subs. cayanne pepper as suggested. It taste really rich and yummy. I think I also cooked it for 35 min and it's still really moist and gewwy in the inside a day later. Lastly, after I poured the batter, I dropped chocolate chips along the top for garish..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starcookies22
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States