Mexican Bride Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This is a wonderful cookie !! I find if you lower the temp. to 300 for 30 minutes it works very well. I make these cookies every year at Christmas sometimes more if I have someone ask you remember those cookies you make and roll in powdered sugar? Sure would like one . I then get the hint . Cookie time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
These are super good cookies! I only baked for 12-15 minutes and they were brown on the bottom. The bake time of 30 minutes is way too long...they would burn. Shake in powdered sugar in a ziplock when still warm.....let cool, then shake them again in the powdered sugar to serve. These freeze easily. just thaw and re-shake in the powdered sugar. Chopped pecans or walnuts work! Really tasty cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I made these cookies for a mexican buffet and everyone loved them. I doubled the recipe and felt that I would've been making cookies all night. I pressed the dough into a jelly roll pan, baked until very light brown & cut into small squares. I then took the advice of another poster and coated them w/powdered sugar while warm and after they cooled. I sprinkled cinnamon on top and they were absolutely delicious, easy and I was asked for the recipe more than once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MumZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Wonderful cookies. Very few ingredients and fast to make. Tried them as a "plan B" do to the failure of another dessert I was making for a Mexican potluck. With time running out I found this recipe and still made it to the party on time! Real keeper and a big hit at the potluck. UPDATE: 12/22, Six months, can't believe there hasn't been more kudos posted to this recipe!! Made it again tonight to give as gifts tomorrow. This is one fast and bullet proof cookie to make. It's easy, looks great, and tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
These were AWESOME. Not too sweet, but nutty and buttery. I've tried other recipes, but these were by far the best I've ever made. I made one change and that was to cook only 20 minutes. They were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
These are wonderful. I read some reviews and I also only cooked for 15 - 20 minutes. I used half butter shortening and half butter and rolled them in the sugar after cooling for a few minutes and then again when completely cooled. My son and husband loved these also! It's a keeper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This is the basic recipe for Mexican wedding cakes. I only bake them 20 minutes. And roll them into small balls about the size of a quarter and then pat them slightly when I put them on the cookie sheet. Drop immediately into powdered sugar and roll around. They turn out PERFECT every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kebbielovesken
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
they were easy to make but taste bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I have been looking for this recipe for years. The only time I have ever had these they were store bought, but I loved them. These are great and easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
absolutely delicious. even substituting the pecans for walnuts worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States