Mexican Bride Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
This was a good recipe for one of my favorites. Picture a pop in your mouth cookie with the texture of a powdered lemon cookie. The trick to not getting a bland, dry cookie is the cookie to sugar coating ratio when you roll them in the powdered sugar. The cookie should be a small ball, slightly larger than the size of a small marble, cooked through but not browned so the flavor is mild. Then while they are a little warm still you coat them in the powdered sugar. After they are cool you coat them one more time. This creats a wonderful smooth coating that melts in your mouth right before the inside crunch from the cookie. Thanks Lana for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I have been looking for this recipe for years. The only time I have ever had these they were store bought, but I loved them. These are great and easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
After 20 minutes they were too brown. Cook only 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
Hard and tasteless. I've had Mexican Wedding cookies several different ways, but never this bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
absolutely delicious. even substituting the pecans for walnuts worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Wonderful cookies. Very few ingredients and fast to make. Tried them as a "plan B" do to the failure of another dessert I was making for a Mexican potluck. With time running out I found this recipe and still made it to the party on time! Real keeper and a big hit at the potluck. UPDATE: 12/22, Six months, can't believe there hasn't been more kudos posted to this recipe!! Made it again tonight to give as gifts tomorrow. This is one fast and bullet proof cookie to make. It's easy, looks great, and tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
These were AWESOME. Not too sweet, but nutty and buttery. I've tried other recipes, but these were by far the best I've ever made. I made one change and that was to cook only 20 minutes. They were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
These are wonderful. I read some reviews and I also only cooked for 15 - 20 minutes. I used half butter shortening and half butter and rolled them in the sugar after cooling for a few minutes and then again when completely cooled. My son and husband loved these also! It's a keeper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
The easiest cookie recipe ever! This is by far the best version I've tried of Mexican Wedding Cookies. Taste fantastic and look gorgeous, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2000
This recipe is almost identical to the one my family has passed on for years. We like to use black walnuts, and consider the holidays incomplete without what we refer to as Mexican Wedding Cakes. Most delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Poplar Bluff, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States