Mexican Blackened Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Thank You, CaliforniCajun for a delicious and easy recipe! I made it just like the recipe called for with one exception...I didn't have the Cotija cheese. I substituted a very small amount of feta cheese (the container was nearly empty) and a little Colby jack. It worked out fine. My husband couldn't wait for it to finish cooking so he made me give him a spoonfull for "quality control" of course! lol It's a winner in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Really good! Left out the beer and used a little mozza for cheese. Will definitely make it again as my hubby and kids all loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was good. I doubled the recipe, used a whole red bell and half a yellow, and skipped the bacon because I didn't have any. Used a full Newcastle for the beer. Very tasty, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
super yummy.. i wasn't patient enough to get it blackened.. but it still tasted good.. i would reduce the onion just a bit next time.. but leave everything else the same.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This was fantastic, thank you! I made it in a cast iron skillet with a hefeweizen, and I could've eaten the entire thing by myself. I used queso fresco rather than cotija, but I'm sure the other is delicious as well. I can't stress enough that this should be made in a cast iron, though. It blackens up beautifully that way. I would definitely make this again, next time it's going cold on a salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Great recipe, super easy, super tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Didn't get blackened much, but looked and tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Followed the instructions, Double batches it. Like previous reviewers, I just couldn't seem to get the corn to blacken until onions started burning & sticking to frying pan (Non-stick coated). I kept sampling corn, but it didn't taste like it had thoroughly cooked until stuff started burning. Maybe a tad bit less cilantro. My wife loved it, I thought it was good. It's labor intensive unless you have serious knife skills. BTW I used a bundt pan to hold corn cob and catch kernels (my wife's idea)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This recipe is amazing!!! It's a fantastic side dish to our mexican dinner. I can also see us making it just as a side when we grill out. We made this last night and didn't use the bacon and it was still insanely good. I added just a tad more garlic and it was perfect. The cotija cheese is a must as is the cilantro. We used this dish instead of the rice and it was a fantastic call!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACYRE
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This was so delicious! I didn't have fresh corn so I used about 1.5 cups frozen. I didn't have the cheese either so I used a mix of marble and Parmesan. I was also serving to kids so I left out the cayenne and let everyone sprinkle on their own amount at the table. We had this with a simple BBQ pork tenderloin, rice and simple green salad. This is one of those keeper recipes that's so versatile. You could add beef or pork to it and serve it with tacos or wraps, serve it cold as a salad, overall just a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States