Mexican Blackened Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Shoretalk
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This was one of the favorite dishes at our Christmas table. We had two vegetarians (no bacon) and two recruits from the U.S. Coast Guard at our table. The blend of flavors was loved by all and went well with our traditional turkey dinner (No, we did not force feed the vegetarians the bird. They had a field roast.). This is so easy and adaptable that I am sure it has just become a tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoretalk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I made this last night for a family dinner. Everyone loved it. Using a couple suggestions from others, it turned out great. I used a cast iron skillet and mexican 4 cheese and can corn instead of fresh. Turned out great. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLDeb
Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Thank You, CaliforniCajun for a delicious and easy recipe! I made it just like the recipe called for with one exception...I didn't have the Cotija cheese. I substituted a very small amount of feta cheese (the container was nearly empty) and a little Colby jack. It worked out fine. My husband couldn't wait for it to finish cooking so he made me give him a spoonfull for "quality control" of course! lol It's a winner in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Really good! Left out the beer and used a little mozza for cheese. Will definitely make it again as my hubby and kids all loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was good. I doubled the recipe, used a whole red bell and half a yellow, and skipped the bacon because I didn't have any. Used a full Newcastle for the beer. Very tasty, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
super yummy.. i wasn't patient enough to get it blackened.. but it still tasted good.. i would reduce the onion just a bit next time.. but leave everything else the same.. ty for the recipe. UPDATE: this is such a delicious versatile recipe.. this time i left out the red bell pepper and reduced the onion.. i used a combo of frozen corn and zucchini.. rarely do i keep cotija in the house so i used a mexican shredded cheese blend.. ty again for such a flavorful side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This was fantastic, thank you! I made it in a cast iron skillet with a hefeweizen, and I could've eaten the entire thing by myself. I used queso fresco rather than cotija, but I'm sure the other is delicious as well. I can't stress enough that this should be made in a cast iron, though. It blackens up beautifully that way. I would definitely make this again, next time it's going cold on a salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Great recipe, super easy, super tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Didn't get blackened much, but looked and tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Followed the instructions, Double batches it. Like previous reviewers, I just couldn't seem to get the corn to blacken until onions started burning & sticking to frying pan (Non-stick coated). I kept sampling corn, but it didn't taste like it had thoroughly cooked until stuff started burning. Maybe a tad bit less cilantro. My wife loved it, I thought it was good. It's labor intensive unless you have serious knife skills. BTW I used a bundt pan to hold corn cob and catch kernels (my wife's idea)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Grilled Bacon-Wrapped Corn on the Cob

Corn and bacon are grilled together in this perfect summer dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States