Mexican Blackened Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I made this last night for a family dinner. Everyone loved it. Using a couple suggestions from others, it turned out great. I used a cast iron skillet and mexican 4 cheese and can corn instead of fresh. Turned out great. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLDeb
Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Thank You, CaliforniCajun for a delicious and easy recipe! I made it just like the recipe called for with one exception...I didn't have the Cotija cheese. I substituted a very small amount of feta cheese (the container was nearly empty) and a little Colby jack. It worked out fine. My husband couldn't wait for it to finish cooking so he made me give him a spoonfull for "quality control" of course! lol It's a winner in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Really good! Left out the beer and used a little mozza for cheese. Will definitely make it again as my hubby and kids all loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was good. I doubled the recipe, used a whole red bell and half a yellow, and skipped the bacon because I didn't have any. Used a full Newcastle for the beer. Very tasty, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
super yummy.. i wasn't patient enough to get it blackened.. but it still tasted good.. i would reduce the onion just a bit next time.. but leave everything else the same.. ty for the recipe. UPDATE: this is such a delicious versatile recipe.. this time i left out the red bell pepper and reduced the onion.. i used a combo of frozen corn and zucchini.. rarely do i keep cotija in the house so i used a mexican shredded cheese blend.. ty again for such a flavorful side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This was fantastic, thank you! I made it in a cast iron skillet with a hefeweizen, and I could've eaten the entire thing by myself. I used queso fresco rather than cotija, but I'm sure the other is delicious as well. I can't stress enough that this should be made in a cast iron, though. It blackens up beautifully that way. I would definitely make this again, next time it's going cold on a salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Great recipe, super easy, super tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Didn't get blackened much, but looked and tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Followed the instructions, Double batches it. Like previous reviewers, I just couldn't seem to get the corn to blacken until onions started burning & sticking to frying pan (Non-stick coated). I kept sampling corn, but it didn't taste like it had thoroughly cooked until stuff started burning. Maybe a tad bit less cilantro. My wife loved it, I thought it was good. It's labor intensive unless you have serious knife skills. BTW I used a bundt pan to hold corn cob and catch kernels (my wife's idea)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This recipe is amazing!!! It's a fantastic side dish to our mexican dinner. I can also see us making it just as a side when we grill out. We made this last night and didn't use the bacon and it was still insanely good. I added just a tad more garlic and it was perfect. The cotija cheese is a must as is the cilantro. We used this dish instead of the rice and it was a fantastic call!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACYRE
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States