Mexican Blackened Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Recipie is outstanding don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Rob and the Burritos
Home Town: Seabrook, Texas, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Really good and I didn't even use the bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Excellent recipe. I used canned corn and it still turned out really good! I can't wait till summer so I can try it with fresh Utah corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORI2573

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I left out the bacon and forgot to add the garlic. This dish is a great option as a side for any mexican or southwestern meal. Add a squeeze of lime for the perfect final touch. I look forward to trying this with bacon & garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This dish was excellent as a side for fish tacos with cilantro and lime juice. My wife and 2 year old daughter enjoyed it as well. Using the bacon is a must and I used a little more cayenne pepper. Will definitely do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FINFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kittrell, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Coats, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Delicious! My husband and I are not huge fans of the flavor of beer, so I substituted lemon juice. Quite a different flavor, but it turned out wonderfully. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group. I made this is a nonstick skillet and never could get the corn to actually 'blacken', all it seemed to do was create a fond in the bottom which when the beer was added dissolved onto the corn turning it brownish. I ended up trying several times to blacken it dry and just adding more beer. It does have a good flavor though and I couldn't resist eating it straight out of the pan. Maybe the winter fresh corn doesn't have enough sugar to it yet. Not having easy access to the cotija cheese I subbed a Mexican shredded mix. Didn't use the cilantro, not a fan, just sprinkled some sliced scallion on the top. Good flavors though and I finished the beer off. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group: 16, April 2011 Most definitely 5-stars! This corn is awesome! I could not get it to truly "blacken", but it browned nicely. I think a cast iron skillet would work well for this, but teflon worked fine. My corn was fresh corn that we had froze, so I can't wait to try this with corn just cut from the cob. The flavors blended well together. I didn't have a red bell pepper, so I used a yellow one. I added some diced tomato right at the end to add the red color. Thanks CaliforniCajun for submitting this recipe - it is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by mickdee
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I made this for Recipe Group. It was very good! Next time, I would use a HOT cast iron skillet. I used a Cuisinart Stainless pan with just a touch of oil and just didn't get the blacken results, though it browned nicely. The flavor was great, however, I used 1/2 the cayenne called for and that provided enough heat for me. Cotija was not available so I used a Mexican blend. Thanks! Nice side to compliment any Mexican dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Recipe Group selection of 4/16/11. After reading other reviews, I used a cast iron skillet. I followed the recipe exactly. I did get very small blackened bits, but I am sure that was from the bacon, which I cooked in the same pan. If I had cooked it any longer the corn would have become mushy so I stopped at golden brown. Color aside this was tasty, the cayenne gave it a nice subtle zing. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States