Mexican Blackened Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
YUM! I used smoking cast iron skillet to char corn. Previous review suggested this and I always do when I want to char corn. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Long

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
It was great! Many people with different tastes liked it! To try to make it a meal, rather than a side, I added black beans. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Hopefully the timing doesn't scare people off from making this! I just noticed it says 1.25 hrs!! I didn't notice that and it certainly didn't take that long to make! I happened to have some extra bacon from Sunday brunch, so that helped... BUT! multi-task! You don't have to wait for the bacon to finish before starting the rest of the dish! I used the recipe as more of a guide... skipped the red bell and replaced with diced chiles (extras from the other night); skipped the beer (wasn't necessary and I doubted I'd enjoy it since I'm not a fan of beer); skipped the cheese since I didn't want to use it (there was enough cheese on the enchiladas I served with the corn). If you keep your heat high enough and occassionaly stir the kernals, this tasty side dish should NOT take 20 minutes! The bacon was nice, but not critical. Give this a shot and tweak to what you have on hand or to your flavor preferences!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
perfect and so easy to make. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nellycct

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I loved this. I've been making a similar version of Mexican corn for years, but the beer and cotija caught my eye on this one and they were fantastic. The beer (I used Corona) adds a really interesting flavor and I'd never had cotija before but it's like a Mexican version of feta cheese (maybe a little less salty). Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rochelle
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Oh my this was great. I used freash corn but could image this with frozen or canned corn. I cooked the corn in my wok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Photo by chefbrittany91
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Made this side with margarita chicken and black beans. (Picture will be posted.) I used three cans of sweet corn, rinsed thoroughly, 1/2 a red bell pepper, 1/2 red onion, garlic and Budweiser beer. I didn't measure much of anything, and threw it together to taste. Turned out pretty good that way. I also did not use any cheese or bacon, only cilantro. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefbrittany91

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Fantastic fresh flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drew Britten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maquoketa, Iowa, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I had to use frozen yellow & white corn b/c fresh was not available. I did not add beer nor could I find the cotija cheese at Target. I used Montery to sprinkle over. With my substitutions, it was still great. Great new side dish I am thankful for trying! It goes great with enchiladas! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Durham Byrd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I put in guacamole tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States