Mexican Beef and Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
We really enjoyed this recipe. I did make some changes. I added red kidney beans as well as the pinto beans. I used WalMart's brand of Southwestern Black Bean and White Corn Salsa and added and extra cup. I did not have an onion on hand so I added a few dashes of onion powder. I prepared it the night before and all my husband had to do was put it in the crock pot in the morning. Super Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I am not one to change recipes but I did tweak this one just a bit. I browned the beef then added everything except vegetables and simmered for one hour. Then added 4 oz. chopped green chilies and 16 oz. frozen vegetable soup veggies and cooked for 15 mins. then served. It was really good. I never thought a cup of salsa could make it so flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I made this exactly as directed, except I doubled the recipe. It was good, but my husband and I both thought it was missing something. It needs more "stuff" in it. I will doctor up the leftovers for tomorrow. Maybe add a can of Rotel. I think it may be better if I had used kidney beans instead of pintos, too...Not sure. Good, easy base recipe, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Love this recipe but I added sausage to it. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Fine. Not really good or bad. It lacked good flavor depth and clearly needed work. I made substantial changes after tasting it and liked my final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Good base - I changed the recipe a bit Ditched the corn (hubby is not partial to corn) Used 29 oz of Pinto Beans, 15 oz of petite diced tomatoes with green chiles and 15 oz refried beans with mild green chiles. Placed the refried beans in the pan I used to pan fry the beef and then added the tomatoes, heated them, added the spices and then added that mixture into the crock pot. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CeeVee49

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Me & the hubby loved this dish. The only thing I done different is, I cooked it on the stovetop. I added black beans in addition to the pinto beans. We put this over yellow mexican rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Recipe was great. I added 2X-3X the beans and substituted natural beef bullion for the Cambell's soup since it has MSG in it. Excellent with tortilla chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Good flavor. Need to add either medium or hot salsa though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Very good. But it did need "something." I added another 1/2 can of pinto beans and pureed the other half can with the juices and added for thickness. Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States