Mexican Beef and Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
The whole family liked this. I did add a can of Rotel tomatos and used medium salsa. It had a nice kick. I also served it over rice and sprinkled shredded cheese on top with a dollop of sour cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I am not one to change recipes but I did tweak this one just a bit. I browned the beef then added everything except vegetables and simmered for one hour. Then added 4 oz. chopped green chilies and 16 oz. frozen vegetable soup veggies and cooked for 15 mins. then served. It was really good. I never thought a cup of salsa could make it so flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
We really enjoyed this recipe. I did make some changes. I added red kidney beans as well as the pinto beans. I used WalMart's brand of Southwestern Black Bean and White Corn Salsa and added and extra cup. I did not have an onion on hand so I added a few dashes of onion powder. I prepared it the night before and all my husband had to do was put it in the crock pot in the morning. Super Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Love this recipe but I added sausage to it. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
absolutely delicious, great over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARY5140

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Me & the hubby loved this dish. The only thing I done different is, I cooked it on the stovetop. I added black beans in addition to the pinto beans. We put this over yellow mexican rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Great soup! I used black beans instead of pinto beans. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I followed the recipe and it was so easy and so great, only thing I did that was different was to cook it in a crock pot! thank you for this addition to my soup collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CathrynTrue

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Good flavor. Need to add either medium or hot salsa though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Very good. But it did need "something." I added another 1/2 can of pinto beans and pureed the other half can with the juices and added for thickness. Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States